We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Busy Place, Just Off the Highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A Busy Place, Just Off the Highway”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a fine Hampton Inn. The staff works hard to please. The hotel is a typical Hampton Inn but is clean, comfortable, and a little more expensive than most peer Hampton Inns. All in all, a good value. No complaints here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarletman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    307
    98
    20
    11
See reviews for
332
287
56
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here 1 night while touring university of Virginia. Room was kind of dark with only 1 window. Bed was kind of lumpy, and did not see firmly on supports. Bathroom kind of smelled funny. Got the free breakfast which was fine. Overall ok stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
281 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We've stayed at Hampton Inns before but felt this was slightly overpriced for what we actually got. The rooms are extremely small - barely enough room to walk past beds to other side of room, narrow window as the rest of the wall was a built in desk/bookshelf combo and not much room for dopkit to sit next to sink without falling into toilet. The front desk service wasn't great when we checked in around 6pm. It was one single person who looked like they were fresh out of high school and couldn't care less. When we asked about dining recommendations, the person handed us a booklet and said it was all in there. However, the next morning, a professional and helpful front desk staff was on site.

I'm giving this an Average rating as it had clean beds, the usual good breakfast and cookie/lemonade service. Just know that the rooms are smaller than most Hampton Inns. It would be fine for a business trip or just for one night if travelling with 2 or more people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottes ville, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. It was also easy to walk to the Chilli's next door for dinner- a plus after driving all day. It is a convenient stopping point on our trip between visiting relatives. We usually stay at the Hamptons as they are usually very consistent. This one had the usual breakfast buffet, however the eggs were not as good as the usual small cheese or ham and cheese omelets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel room is clean and well maintained. The bathroom is clean. Complimentary wifi connection is good, hot breakfast is tasty, fresh fruit is well stocked. Nice to have 24 hour complimentary coffee service. Hotel staff are friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here for two nights over a wedding weekend and were extremely impressed with the quality of service here. Despite the fact that they were at capacity on Friday evening, they allowed us to check in three hours early when I explained we were in the wedding party and needed to leave for the wedding rehearsal prior to the normal check-in time.

The lobby area has plenty of seating for family members to gather and there is even a small conference room families can rent out for a little continental breakfast gathering the morning after the wedding. We paid $150 per night on a holiday weekend and while that's more than we normally pay, the quality of service made it worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Hampton was up to par or better than others but it's location was a little out of the way for travelers of US 64. Room and bath were clean and well furnished but somewhat smaller than other Hamptons. No noise problems. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
2.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Address: 2035 India Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlottesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing