We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay--Awkward Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a nicely maintained hotel, with friendly/accommodating front desk staff, and worth the stay, but it is a bit awkward to get to if headed southbound on U.S. 29. If it were closer to my Charlottesville business destination than another Hilton property to the north, I'd consider staying there again on a future visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

823 - 829 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love staying at this Hampton Inn. We have stayed there so many times over the past 2 years; we know all of the regular staff. Everyone is friendly, helpful, and willing to assist us in any way they can. Our rooms are clean, neat, and quiet. We really enjoy Marty and Stuart taking us to our appointments and restaurants in the van--that is a great help and it keeps me from driving in the traffic. I cant say enough good things about this "team" there. They should all be commended for keeping this hotel "first rate"....the staff is what you remember most and we value their friendship.

Room Tip: We ate at restaurants close by and they were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here whilst doing a tour of UVA with our daughter. It is tucked away at the back of a strip mall but our GPS had no trouble finding it! Staff were very helpful and cheery, despite the cold and very wet weather. Across the street is a new shopping, dining and entertainment complex with a movie theater with stunning screens and very comfortable seats! As the hotel is older the rooms were smaller than the newer hotels and the bathroom was a little tight, but the beds were very comfortable. The lobby is bright and clean and the breakfast was standard fare, but well done! The inside of the elevator could do with a refurb, it's a little worn and and dated!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I'm a Marriott Platinum member, we stopped here to check it out. Spent two days here and was somewhat disappointed... no guest laundry. Wife liked breakfast and the location here but I'm partial to what I know and not having a guest laundry is a big thing for me. Next stay will be at the Courtyard farther up 29N. Also didn't help the heat/ac didn't work so well there was no significant air flow coming out of it.

Room Tip: check your heat / ac upon arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Your typical Hampton Inn. Clean rooms, nice lobby, good service. Near lots of dining choices. It's hidden behind a strip mall so it was a little hard to find at first. Would stay there again. My only complaint and this goes for all Hampton Inns is the "hot" breakfast. Ended up grabbing breakfast our most of the time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my first time visiting this particular Hampton Inn. I was in town for a training session for a local bank, and I decided to come up the day before and the spend the evening in Charlottesville. The check-in process was very smooth. I had a room on the second floor, and it was definitely very quiet. The room itself was very nice; however, the bathroom was quite small. In addition, the king-size bed was very low-down to the floor and its firmness was quite soft. Also, the air conitioner/heater unit kept making weird noises which kept me awake most of the evening, but I did not report this to the staff. The continental breakfast wasn't bad, but it could have been better. Would I come back to this particular hotel? Probably not. However, it suited my purpose for a one night visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamminjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

In town on business, I returned to this property. The staff was attentive and friendly. I found my room, other then being on the small side was clean and quiet. The HVAC worked well. Breakfast was the ususal Hampton fare, but included more choices than HIE. The breakfast attenendant was friendly and kept the food full and clean. There are numerous resturants near the hotel, some within walking distance. If in town again, I will stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paintman0954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
777 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Address: 2035 India Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $110 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlottesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing