We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Hampton Inn, clean, good value and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Older Hampton Inn, clean, good value and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here whilst doing a tour of UVA with our daughter. It is tucked away at the back of a strip mall but our GPS had no trouble finding it! Staff were very helpful and cheery, despite the cold and very wet weather. Across the street is a new shopping, dining and entertainment complex with a movie theater with stunning screens and very comfortable seats! As the hotel is older the rooms were smaller than the newer hotels and the bathroom was a little tight, but the beds were very comfortable. The lobby is bright and clean and the breakfast was standard fare, but well done! The inside of the elevator could do with a refurb, it's a little worn and and dated!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    305
    95
    19
    11
See reviews for
325
284
54
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bealeton, Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I'm a Marriott Platinum member, we stopped here to check it out. Spent two days here and was somewhat disappointed... no guest laundry. Wife liked breakfast and the location here but I'm partial to what I know and not having a guest laundry is a big thing for me. Next stay will be at the Courtyard farther up 29N. Also didn't help the heat/ac didn't work so well there was no significant air flow coming out of it.

Room Tip: check your heat / ac upon arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Your typical Hampton Inn. Clean rooms, nice lobby, good service. Near lots of dining choices. It's hidden behind a strip mall so it was a little hard to find at first. Would stay there again. My only complaint and this goes for all Hampton Inns is the "hot" breakfast. Ended up grabbing breakfast our most of the time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my first time visiting this particular Hampton Inn. I was in town for a training session for a local bank, and I decided to come up the day before and the spend the evening in Charlottesville. The check-in process was very smooth. I had a room on the second floor, and it was definitely very quiet. The room itself was very nice; however, the bathroom was quite small. In addition, the king-size bed was very low-down to the floor and its firmness was quite soft. Also, the air conitioner/heater unit kept making weird noises which kept me awake most of the evening, but I did not report this to the staff. The continental breakfast wasn't bad, but it could have been better. Would I come back to this particular hotel? Probably not. However, it suited my purpose for a one night visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamminjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

In town on business, I returned to this property. The staff was attentive and friendly. I found my room, other then being on the small side was clean and quiet. The HVAC worked well. Breakfast was the ususal Hampton fare, but included more choices than HIE. The breakfast attenendant was friendly and kept the food full and clean. There are numerous resturants near the hotel, some within walking distance. If in town again, I will stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paintman0954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were able to get a room through calling the hilton honors number ( It was all booked due to a concert). The room was nice and clean and not a far drive from John Paul Jones Arena where we went to see a DMB concert. The hotel is also with in walking distance to many restaurants so that is an added bonus. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed for a few days recently, and the hotel was very nice. The rooms were spacious, quite, and clean. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The only real issue was the cigarette smell at the from desk as if someone was smoking there and the broken elevator on the day I left, but overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeg844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
2.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Address: 2035 India Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlottesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing