We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have never been disappointed with any of our stays at a Hamption Inn and this one lived up to our expections. Staff was friendly and helpful and they welcomed you with cookies at the front desk. After traveling most of the day we decided to eat in our room rather than go out again since it was after 6:00pm. The front desk had recommendations as well as delivery menus for several restaurants. The room was very comfortable and the king size bed was outstanding. The free breakfast buffet had a lot of variety including hot food which was a good start to the continuation of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drichabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    304
    95
    19
    11
See reviews for
325
283
54
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston Area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at this Hampton with my wife on 1 October for one night. Visited Jefferson home at Monticello which is only a 10 minute drive. University was also 10 minutes away, so location was good. Check- in was quick. I got lots of restaurant suggestions for the evening meal and a handout of directions to Monticello. Room was clean and ready and yes, it was a little smaller than other Hamptons I have visited. Internet worked well. My only concern was the apparent uncontrolled access to the elevator. One just has to pass through the entry doors and then enter the elevator without passing through the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really good check in service. Friendly helpful staff took care of everything. Breakfast was good and changed from day to day. Had two adjoining rooms for my family of four and was very comfortable. Wifi connection was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were on a university trip doing university business and hence we stayed at the Hampton at UVA. Three rooms but all on different floors, no university maps available, no university rates and no local info or aid. We asked for places to eat, maps, etc and identified ourselves as visitors from another campus MANY states away and received ho-humm style of non-response. The rooms were Hampton typical, but the service was not as crisp and hospitable as we've experienced at other Hampton properties.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighwayPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hampton Inns are excellent value choices because you reliably know exactly what you're getting for your money. The Hampton Inn Charlottesville lived up to the Hampton Inn's guarantee. But this hotel also surprised me with a modified room design.

The most impressive fixture in my room extended along the exterior wall. A large woodgrain unit that looked similar to a piece of furniture functioned as both a closet and a desk. Not only was it well-integrated, recessed light provided the room a gentle glow of illumination. This element gives an otherwise unremarkable room a signature feature. The bathroom is also well designed, with a triangular vanity that gives this water closet room a cozy look and feel.

Here's a video of the room:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkIOE6s0hEY

Breakfast here fell in line with what you'd expect at a Hampton Inn: a selection of hot and cold entree choices plus coffee, tea, and juice. The dining room is updated an well-appointed, but still crowded (as most Hampton Inns are) in the eight a.m. hour.

HIDDEN GEMS
-Bedroom design
-Bathroom (for a utility hotel)

YOU MUST
-Grab a cookie at the front desk

MUST NOT
-Pay too much. It's nice, but it's still a Hampton Inn.
-Expect to be dining alone at 8:15 a.m.

BOTTOM LINE
This is one of the better links in the Hampton chain, offering a blend of good value, reliable amenities, and standout design.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Although the rooms are well-maintained and clean, the front desk service could use a great deal of coaching. Having worked for Starwood hotels as a Front Desk associate, Front Desk Manager, and Housekeeper manager, I feel qualified to say I know what to look for.

At check-in, the gentleman who checked us in waited until he finished counting his til to acknowledge us. The gentleman standing next to him texting on his cell phone didn't even look up. The next morning, when I needed assistance with their computer, the gentleman who was at the desk not only did not acknowledge me when I approached the desk (he, too, was busy on his cell texting), but I had to say prompt him to notice me. His assistance with the computer was sub-par at best, with first a great sigh at having to help us out to then just staring at the computer, clicking on the image of Google maps, and then saying, "Yeah, I don't know what's wrong with the printer. Maybe try the other computer." Well done. This same promising star of customer service the next morning had to be stirred from whatever was so important on his cell phone yet again just so my wife and I could check out. I was also at no point acknowledged as a guest, just be room number. Don't worry, I don't have a last name or anything. And isn't it usually policy to not ask a guest for their room number? You know, in case someone else around is trying to find out where you're staying? Maybe it's not for Hampton Inns, and that's fine. But being addressed as "Mr. so-and-so" or even ADDRESSED would be a big step in the right direction. The old 1/50 rule comes to mind: at 10 feet, acknowledge the guest with a smile; at 5 feet, acknowledge the guest with a greeting.

Will we stay here again? Only if the other hotels are booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert 1, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Saul C, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. Please allow me to apologize for the service you received from our front desk. We pride ourselves on our outstanding service and be assured that your comments will be shared with our staff. We hope you will not let this mar your impression of our hotel and will allow us to serve you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
490 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I did not pay attention when we booked this inn, and was surprised to find no fitness room, just an outdoor pool only open a few months a year. The room was smaller than those of any other Hampton Inn we have stayed in. The sink console was in the tiny bathroom, where the coffeemaker had to be moved from the sink-side in order to have any space for toiletries. The closet was also quite small, with a perpendicular hanger bar – awkward to use (especially as the door on the left would not open all the way due to the positioning of the night-stand. (If one guest is sitting at the desk using a computer a second guest cannot get to the closet without climbing over the bed.) There was no chest of drawers for clothes storage. This inn is less costly than others closer to the center of town, including the central Hampton Inn and Suites, but be aware of what you are getting! I personally do not care for the squishy pillows that appear to be the mode these days, but the bed was comfortable. There is not much in walking distance unless you have come to C'ville to go to a shopping center. Breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn offering, with a good variety of cold and hot choices. Desk staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: The Roman shades do not completely block the sun in the morning, so if light bothers you ask for a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert 1, Manager at Hampton Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We hope you will not let your experience mar your impression of our hotel and will stay with us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
2.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Address: 2035 India Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlottesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing