We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst Marriott experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“worst Marriott experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We are Marriott Rewards members and typically stay in Fairfield Inns or Springhill Suites when traveling. Our recent trip to Monticello included a 1-night stay here, and it was one of the worth experiences we've encountered. The front-desk lady was extremely rude and unwelcoming, the room was dirty with food all over the carpet, and you could hear through the walls like the people were in the same room. I did bring some of these issues to management's attention the next morning, and they were truly wanting to know what they could do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzougalfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear mizzougalfromtx,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. I'm so sorry your experience did not meet your expectations and that our clerk was rude - this is indeed unacceptable and we have handled it moving forward. If you would like to discuss further, please don't hesitate to get in touch with me at the number below. Again, I apologize and hope that you will consider giving us another chance to show why so many of our guests enjoying staying with us on your next trip to Charlottesville.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    144
    53
    21
    11
See reviews for
105
108
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was very nice and clean. It is in the middle of shops and restaurants in Charlottesville, some even in walking distance. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Our trip was an adventure of the Nelson 151 to the vineyards and brewerys. The drive was about 20-25 minutes which wasn't bad at all. We would definitely go back to this area and stay in this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bolt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear bolt17,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed our property and that you could take advantage of our great location. I also hope you enjoyed checking out all the local vineyards. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights at this motel. The welcome at reception was friendly and efficient, cleaning was good, and other staff were also helpful.

The room was clean, the furnishings good, and the WiFi signal strong.

The huge let-down was breakfast. The orange juice on at least one day tasted watered down and both days the baked goods were stale, despite toasting they were like rock. Apart from make yourself waffles the only other hot food was a McMuffin style item. During our current trip we have stayed at 'budget' motels and where breakfasts have been provided they have been very good. To come to this type of property and get such bad food makes it doubly bad.

This was our first and last experience of a Fairfield.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Andy B,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. I'd like to sincerely apologize that our breakfast did not meet your expectations - we truly appreciate your feedback and will discuss it with our staff so we can improve it in the future. If you'd like to discuss further, please don't hesitate to get in touch with me at the number below. Otherwise, I am glad you found our rooms clean and staff friendly and helpful and do hope you will consider giving Fairfield another chance in the future. Thanks again for the review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fairfield Inn is generally a "down market" choice within the Marriott chain, but if you get one that has been recently renovated, like this one, it's a pretty good value. The rooms (we had two) were clean and efficient. The lobby was actually fairly large. The breakfast was what you expect from a Fairfield Inn, very simple. But something a bit unexpected was the size of the breakfast area. Sometimes they are extremely small, but this one was very large. We had no problem getting a table at all, and we came at prime time (8:00). We came here to visit UVA. The location was pretty good, only about a 5 minute drive to the school. There are lots of restaurant choices very close to the hotel. All in all, a good choice for a quick visit.

Room Tip: The hotel is right on the highway, and we had rooms on that side of the hotel. I was worried about n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Ken T,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that you liked our refreshed look and were able to find a table easily during your breakfast even though it was busy. Thanks again for the review; I hope you enjoyed visiting UVA and that we'll see you again the next time you're in town.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwich, ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I found this place after scanning the list of hotels in Charlottesville, VA (last minute trip to UVA. All of the popular hotels were sold out. The Marriott agent found this property as an alternative.

Good news: clean hotel, nice color scheme, comfortable beds, friendly front desk, ok free breakfast, a lot of parking. Can't go wrong here.

Less good news: One single elevator for three floors. The hotel was filled so needless to say there were long lines to get on. To add insult to injury, the cleaning staff and bell hops used the same elevator. Guests weren't given the right away, to boot. Why this hotel doesn't have a service elevator is inexcusable. The chaos encountered at the elevator should make one think twice about staying here. A shame because the hotel scored points in those other areas mentioned.

Note to hotel management: educate your hotel staff on "hotel guests always have the right away, but more importantly, they shouldn't be using the guest elevator, particularly during busy breakfast hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunkin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Dunkin123,

Thanks for reviewing our Fairfield Inn & Suites - I'm pleased to hear that you found us clean and comfortable and enjoyed that part of your stay. However, I would like to apologize for the issues surrounding the elevator and we sincerely appreciate your feedback and will discuss it so that we can avoid such inconvenience during busy times in the future. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please get in touch with me at the number below. Thank you again and we hope you'll give us another shot the next time you're in Charlottesville.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, nice King size room with full pull out couch. Although I asked at the desk if everything was there to use the pullout couch to sleep, there were no sheets or pillow cases in the room. The front desk clerk brought them up promptly when asked, and offered to make up the bed for us. We didn't need that. When the pull out couch is made into a bed, it is impossible to get past the couch to use the bathroom. Our grandson put the mattress on the floor so that we could pass. The two TVs were very nice. Room temperature was easy to controll. I called maintenance before we left this morning, and reported the coffee maker did not work, and the toilet flushed continuously.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Manmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear manmap,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sorry that your experience with our pull-out couch had some hitches and we appreciate your feedback for the future. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our other amenities and hope that you will visit us again the next time you're in town. Thanks again for the review,

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting UVA. The hotel was about whs you would expecect. I felt the rooms were a little on the small side, however the lobby and breakfast area were very nice and were obviously newly renovated.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear 50toes,

Thanks for your review and I hope you enjoyed visiting the University while you were in town. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our renovations and appreciate your other feedback as well. We hope to see you again the next time you're in Charlottesville!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Address: 577 Branchlands Boulevard, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charlottesville hotel is located near the nationally acclaimed University of Virginia Cavaliers in the heart of beautiful Charlottesville, Virginia. We offer free breakfast, free WiFi, fitness center, and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charlottesville North Hotel Charlottesville
Fairfield Charlottesville
Charlottesville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing