We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great hotel for kids”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This hotel is truly wonderful if you are traveling with children. They have a free breakfast that offers a variety of choices and has high chairs for the little ones. They provided us with a pack-n-play for our 8 mos old son and were wonderful about waiting to service the room around his nap schedule. The lobby has games, puzzles, and books for kids. The staff is so friendly. We have stayed her twice and it is always wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiamaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    98
    33
    7
    7
See reviews for
107
62
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The Inn was well kept and maintained. Rooms spacious, almost apartments. Just make sure you stay on the first floor if you travel with lots of luggage. The ONE elevator is situated in an odd spot at the back of the building and not very convenient. My room on the second floor must have had no insulation because I could hear everything the guest directly above me was doing and the guest BESIDE me even called me on the hotel phone to let me know he could hear every word of my phone conversation! Housekeeping was thorough and the breakfast staff was so friendly, serving a fabulous meal with lots of variety. Next door to lots of convenient shopping, including 2 grocery stores. Kitchen in room was very nice, but no oven. You do have a dishwasher though. Will definitely stay here again when visiting Charlottesville, a great city!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbaa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I am a fan of the Residence Inn brand because I like staying in a suite rather than a regular motel room. There is a fully equipped kitchen as well as living room and bedrooms. Some Residence Inns have a new decor, but this is an older property, and one day will need an update. It was clean and comfortable. Our suite was quiet; we stayed on a weekday and the other visitors were military and business travelers with a few older travelers. Our room had a view of a roof, and most rooms wouldn't have good views. Shopping center across the street has several informal restaurants as well as a large grocery and pharmacy. Good hot breakfast included prepared oatmeal which is a big improvement over the packaged instant oatmeal that many chains use. Name brand yogurt -- also eggs, potatoes, sausage, waffles and most anything else you can think of.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aDCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I purchased this on priceline as a 3 star hotel, there was no 4 star option in charlottesville.
The room was just OK , good if you going to have an extended stay because it has a kitchen in it.. There were college kids partying on our floor who kept opening & closing their door all night and we did not get a good night sleep because of it.
The staff was nice. The complimentary breakfast was ok but I like to eat healthier foods so it was not that great for me although they did have yogurt & oatmeal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyt108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite which was very comforable and spacious for our family of 4. However, I would prefer 2 beds in the 2nd bedroom - better for families.
The pool was nice and there is a games count for badminton or short tennis and a basketball hoop complete with rackets and balls.
There is a good selection of board games for guests to borrow - a nice touch.
The breakfast was good, although it was not clear whether it finished at 9:00 or 9:30 and the staff did seem to be too keen to start clearing up.
Lemonade and coffee is available all day.
Monday to Wednesday there is also free food in the evening - one day we had tacos which were excellent.
The staff on the front desk were very good. We had a problem with the air conditioning and someone arrived to repair it within 5 minutes.
There is a good shopping centre just over the road - with a very good supermarket.
Charlottesville is not a very exciting place to visit, but we found the hotel an excellent place to relax in the middle of our touring holiday.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2010

My husband had to attend a two-week training event for work at the University of VA, and we were able to come along with him. We booked this hotel without really knowing what we'd get. Honestly, we could not have found a better hotel. We were there with our two young children the entire time--save a weekend excursion to DC. We were comfortable and greatly enjoyed the wonderful breakfast each morning. The staff truly went above and beyond to make it a great stay. The hotel was also very clean.

Due to our circumstances--two separate weeks there--we actually stayed in each of the hotel rooms offered. We had originally reserved the studio, but since the hotel was less crowded our first week, the staff graciously upgraded us to a two-room suite. It was luxurious! :) Two separate bedrooms and baths, and three TVs! Our next week (we were booked for two separate weeks not a consecutive two weeks), the hotel was full and so we got the studio we had originally reserved. With two small kids, the studio is actually a tight fit. For such a long trip we had a lot of luggage which was hard to store. The room was not small by any means, but after a week in the two-bedroom, we knew we needed more space. The hotel staff was very accommodating and moved us to a one bedroom suite as soon as one became available. The one-bedroom worked much better for our family, giving two separate rooms--the bedroom and the living area. The kids slept comfortably on the roll-out bed. All of the rooms had a stove top, an oven, a dishwasher, a full sized fridge, and dishes/utensils.

One thing to keep in mind is that this is an extended living hotel and so some guests will have pets. We never had any difficulties in this regard. My daughter has an extreme house dust allergy which is sometimes triggered by pet dander, but all was well. However, if you have a pet allergy you could possibly have problems. The staff made sure to put us in a room that had been petless for a while. Also, even when we were next door to a room with a big dog inside, we were never disturbed by barking.

This is a very family-friendly hotel. The breakfast staff was very kind and doted on the children. One half of the pool is 3 ft, so my just-learning-to-swim daughter was very comfortable. It was also walking distance to the college, so my husband didn't need to take the car to get to his class. Just across the street is a shopping center with many fun shops and yummy restaurants as well as a Kroger and Harris Teeter. And, again, the staff is exceptionally kind and accommodating. We were extremely pleased with our hotel choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The room was very large (studio), the bed comfortable, the shower very good, and the A/C worked. Typical Residence Inn - not fancy, but serves a purpose. There's a pool, which was welcome given the incredible temps we encountered. Breakfast was good, but closes up at 9 a.m. on weekdays, which is too early for vacationers. Location very good (between downtown and UVA, with a shopping center across the street). A little pricey (we could have stayed for less at another comparable chain, but that other one is not completely non-smoking, and all Marriotts are, and that's a deal-breaker for us!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sf7307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,740 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
303 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlottesville

Property: Residence Inn Charlottesville
Address: 1111 Millmont St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Charleston is just minutes from downtown Charleston, Yeager Airport CRW, Charleston Civic Center, Clay Center for the Arts and Charleston Town Center Mall. Our hotel lets you relax and stretch out with separate sleeping, living and dining areas. Enjoy full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access in all suites. Additionally, our Charleston extended stay hotel delivers Marriott service and offers complimentary breakfast daily and social hours on weeknights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing