We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not believe the hype!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2007

My family and I stayed at the Residence Inn the entire summer. We had mold growing in our hotel room, we had to fight for daily room service,and our room attendant was extremely rude. Nearly each week my husband and I found ourselves trying to track down towels and sheets so that we could shower and sleep after a long day. Needless to say, our experience here was less than stellar. Even after voicing our concerns to the management, nothing changed. This may be a great place to pass in and out of, but not for a long stay. Oh, beaware of the breakfast bar and afternoon snacks, I got food poisoned twice.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank supermomnwifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2007

Breakfast buffet and evening snack made this a great value. My room was clean and comfortable. Pool area and hot tub helped me relax after a long day.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Jantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

I was very impressed with the service and location at the Residence Inn. I was able to walk to a University of Virginia Football Game and the staff remembered me by name every night I came back to the hotel after working.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mark7579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We got a great deal on this place through Priceline, and it was an outstanding value. The hotel is located very conveniently where Route 29 and Route 250 intersect on the north side of Charlottesville.

You have to get aquainted with the roads there to really appreciate how convenient that spot really is. We were able to get to UVa within a few minutes. I think this place would be really fantastic if you're visiting Darden or the Law School, because they are right around the corner from the hotel, although not really within walking distance.

You can get to several wineries pretty quickly by jumping on Route 250 West on the west side of Charlottesville, and you can get to I-64 that way as well fairly quickly to get to Monticello in 15-20 minutes.

The breakfast is fantastic, since it's a hot breakfast of eggs, sausage, hash browns, pancakes, waffles, juice, and coffee, plus your normal continental breakfast stuff. So, you save money on not having to buy breakfast outside the hotel.

The only downside is you are a little bit away from downtown Charlottesville, but the only interesting thing we found down there was the Downtown Mall, and it wasn't really that great. There are a number of empty storefronts on the Mall.

However, there are a number of interesting restaurants there. You can just as easily grab a nice bite to eat near UVa, though.

Be sure to get a room away from the pool, since this hotel attracts groups with kids who like to make a lot of noise at the pool. We got a room away from the pool, and we were fine the entire time.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Oh, it's probably because they allow pets here.

If you're just passing through Charlottesville, don't stay here. There are plenty of other normal hotels which seemed very nice to us as we drove past. If you're planning on staying at this hotel for 1-4 weeks, then this might be a good place to stay. Especially if you have a wet dog.

Regardless, the beds were standard. The receptionist very friendly. They put out a nice spread for breakfast. Nice pool. Everything you'd expect from a Residence Inn.

Stayed: July 2005
4  Thank SearchforExcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Reviewers have said great things about the Residence Inn Charlottesville. It is true . . . and well deserved! We have stayed two previous times at this convenient location with its nice, roomy, family-oriented facilities. BUT, as in the past, this most recent three-night visit highlighted what a super, great job its staff does. The trend starts at the top with General Manager Trenton Hood. He sets a great example! Working hard, listening to customers needs, getting personally involved. Great personal service! Problem with an Internet connection? The GM is in our room fixing the wires late that first evening. Memorial Day holiday? He is there helping clean breakfast tables, talking with his staff and customers. An odor problem in our carpet? He and his staff are on top of it, working very hard, do everything possible to make it better for the customer. We like the Residence Inn set-up and value, but you LOVE the staff even more. Top to bottom, staff service is wonderful. World class performance! THANKS!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tlcohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Amherst, New York
27
Reviewed April 2, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn. The staff were professional and helpful. The breakfasts were great - perfect for a family with picky eaters. The pool area was well maintained, and clean. There is a local mall very close where you can shop, buy ice cream, or enjoy various restaurants. We've already booked our next trip for this summer, and we're looking forward to another couple of weeks in Charlottesville!

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 37 in Charlottesville
811 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#7 of 37 in Charlottesville
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#16 of 37 in Charlottesville
104 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 37 in Charlottesville
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlottesville

Address: 1111 Millmont St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $171 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longer stays become even more convenient at Residence Inn Charlottesville. The lively downtown Charlottesville is located just minutes away, our hotel is also located near the University of Virginia, Monticello Wine Trail and Charlottesville Albemarle Airport. Feel at home as you cook your favorite meal in your in-room kitchen and relax on a plush sofa while watching a movie on a large flat-screen TV. In the morning, be sure to visit our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. For snacks and drinks during the week, drop by our evening social hour, The Residence Inn Mix™. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing