We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while touring the Presidential houses in the area. Big quiet room with full size refrigerator/freezer although no ice trays or ice machine meant had to go down to the kitchen buffet area to get some. The a/c does cycle on and off which is annoying. Staff very friendly and helpful. Guest laundry and nice grounds although we din't use the pool/gym area. Buffet breakfast and weekday evening meals were filling if sometimes fast food quality. Seems to be a favorite with military- many soldiers staying here. Excellent location across from mall with mix of restaurants and shops- grocery, Barnes and Noble, boutiques, banks, etc. Quick drive to UVA campus. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank AdrianaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 259 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stopped here for two nights on a recent trip. Hotel is very good. Staff is very attentive and helpful. Rooms are what you expect at a Residence Inn and that is why we picked this one. Near the University of Virginia and across the street from a major mall. Breakfast is outstanding. You should have no concerns about this facility

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank califken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A good Residence Inn with comfortable rooms, fast wireless, and a nicer pool area than some Residence Inns. Breakfast menu was varied, but some mornings there were problems with the buffet items being restocked in a timely manner. The hotel does brisk business and the hordes can wipe out the bacon pretty quickly. More staff monitoring would help.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We often stay at Marriott hotels and find them to always be good. This inn is very pet friendly, the rooms are very comfortable and clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is good. We will be staying here again. It is close to UVa and the downtown area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbtourist2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Two of us stayed in a one bedroom suite at this hotel for one evening in July 2012. The front desk staff was very pleasant and the room was clean. I could clearly hear a toddler talking from another room for a bit of time, so I'm not sure if there was "relatively" good soundproofing or poor soundproofing, but we were fortunate enough to have quiet neighbors. The hotel was well situated for our needs. While not fancy, the free breakfast was more than adequate and we enjoyed the convenience. We had expected snacks/happy hour in the afternoon, but found that it is only offered on Mon to Wed evenings, so we missed it on our Thursday stay. We didn't use any of the other facilities, so I can't rate them.

However, there were a few disappointments. We chose a one bedroom so that one of us could sleep in the bedroom and one could sleep on the pull-out couch with the hope for quiet and a better sleep. Unfortunately, the pull-out couch was very uncomfortable (as compared to other Res Inns we've stayed at) and the room was loud, with a refrigerator that sounded like a plane starting up and an air conditioning unit that loudly cycled on and off. Even though it was very hot, we turned off the ac unit, so that it would be easier to sleep. I, sleeping in the bedroom, had a good sleep, while the person sleeping in the living area, did not sleep well, thus, defeating our primary purpose of a one bedroom vs a standard hotel room.

Overall, a fair stay - adequate for our purposes. With a more comfortable pull-out and quieter frig and a/c, it could have been outstanding for our purposes.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank SallyforthMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Nice residence inn with friendly staff. Room, while not new is clean. I had a room that faced a wall--but was there on business so I did not move. Breakfast is ok--there is a shopping center across the street which is a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utopia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel gives you a bedroom as well as a sitting room with a pull out sofa. Also there is a small kitchen area with refrigerator, stove, microwave and sink. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. Bed was also very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with fresh foods like eggs, potatoes and fruit. One of the better breakfast buffets on the road. We were only there one night but would not hesitate to go back or recomend. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Always ask the name of the front desk staff who checks you in and thank them by name
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblinwreck59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,841 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
776 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
965 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlottesville

Address: 1111 Millmont St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $155 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longer stays become even more convenient at Residence Inn Charlottesville. The lively downtown Charlottesville is located just minutes away, our hotel is also located near the University of Virginia, Monticello Wine Trail and Charlottesville Albemarle Airport. Feel at home as you cook your favorite meal in your in-room kitchen and relax on a plush sofa while watching a movie on a large flat-screen TV. In the morning, be sure to visit our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. For snacks and drinks during the week, drop by our evening social hour, The Residence Inn Mix™. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing