We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I always rate a hotel room by the cleaniness of the bathroom, how comfortable the bed and softness and smell of the linen and towels. I found this RI room and bathroom clean and bed, very comfortable. I did not have the smell of the linen in my pjs when I returned home! The kichen area is not as nice as what I have seen at other RIs. This kitchen needs updating, especially at this price ($319 per nite). The staff was very friendly and accommodating. While eating breakfast, I watched the staff and how they interacted with guest. They continously offered assistance to everyone who entered the dinning area. Sara/Crozet VA you are a gem! As far as cost, it was a bit high, I assumed it was because of UVA graduation. Overall, it was a good experience but not a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor! Less Noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kartyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 259 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

I didn't realize there were Residence Inns this old and outdated still in operation. Almost every Residence Inn in which I've stayed has been squeaky clean, with stainless steel appliances and spacious rooms/lobbies. This property is stunningly outdated, dim, and dirty. There are far, far better options in Charlottesville. The Hampton Inn & Suites has rooms with kitchens and is more convenient to the University (you can't really walk to UVa from this hotel, but you can walk from the Hampton Inn on 10th). The Courtyard up the highway also has some rooms with kitchenettes.

The rates at this hotel are shockingly high compared to other Residence Inns. I've stayed at Residence Inns in the Washington, DC area for $100 less than the rates being asked for here. I have to assume that they are taking advantage of visitors to the University and Monticello...sort of biting the hand that feeds you, in my opinion. There are far better options in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnceMoreIBeatSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Near to the UVA campus and a nice shopping center. Good access to a running track at UVA. Breakfast meal is above average.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We used Residence Inn for a wedding block hotel. It's a great location, very close to UVA and a shopping area with all your needs. The rooms were comfortable, large, and very clean. I liked being able to cook with the kitchen. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. And of course the free hot breakfast is a great feature. Very comfortable!!

Personally, I used a 2 bedroom which allowed each couple to have their own space and still gave a comfortable living/dining area for times together.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classics5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The location of this Residence Inn is perfect. right across the road from a great shopping center with everything you could need including a supermarket, clothes stores and a multitude of dining options, mostly fast food. It is also located very close to the main UVA campus, and directly behind the hotel is the UVA softball fields with a great walking track. Having the campus so close made for a great option for running in a beautiful area.

The rooms are clean, and seem well maintained. The bed was comfortable, not too hard not too soft. Having a full kitchen is a great asset and I love having the opportunity to cook for myself while on the road.

The free breakfast was a good selection, typical contiential breakfast options like bagels, muffins, cereal and fruit. But they also have hot breakfast options made fresh each morning.

The only drawback about this place is the "business center" - its really just a computer and printer in the corner of the dinning room. The rooms are also wired internet, not wireless.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWarrior101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This hotel is truly wonderful if you are traveling with children. They have a free breakfast that offers a variety of choices and has high chairs for the little ones. They provided us with a pack-n-play for our 8 mos old son and were wonderful about waiting to service the room around his nap schedule. The lobby has games, puzzles, and books for kids. The staff is so friendly. We have stayed her twice and it is always wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginiamaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The Inn was well kept and maintained. Rooms spacious, almost apartments. Just make sure you stay on the first floor if you travel with lots of luggage. The ONE elevator is situated in an odd spot at the back of the building and not very convenient. My room on the second floor must have had no insulation because I could hear everything the guest directly above me was doing and the guest BESIDE me even called me on the hotel phone to let me know he could hear every word of my phone conversation! Housekeeping was thorough and the breakfast staff was so friendly, serving a fabulous meal with lots of variety. Next door to lots of convenient shopping, including 2 grocery stores. Kitchen in room was very nice, but no oven. You do have a dishwasher though. Will definitely stay here again when visiting Charlottesville, a great city!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbaa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
94 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
787 reviews
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
976 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlottesville

Address: 1111 Millmont St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $159 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longer stays become even more convenient at Residence Inn Charlottesville. The lively downtown Charlottesville is located just minutes away, our hotel is also located near the University of Virginia, Monticello Wine Trail and Charlottesville Albemarle Airport. Feel at home as you cook your favorite meal in your in-room kitchen and relax on a plush sofa while watching a movie on a large flat-screen TV. In the morning, be sure to visit our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. For snacks and drinks during the week, drop by our evening social hour, The Residence Inn Mix™. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing