We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beer Run

Beer Run
Ranked #47 of 540 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Beer Run? For Sunday brunch? A little hard to find but well worth it. Everything's cooked to order, so it took a little while to get our food, but everything was really good. Good coffee, too. And you can always check out the 100's (?) of six packs available.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRoundTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    63
    23
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If You Like Great Draft Beer...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

...then you owe it to yourself to stop at the Beer Run. I've visited Cville many times over the last five years and know that it's not hard to find some good beer there, but if you're looking for a real beer lover's destination (as I was this past weekend) this is the place to go. All six of us agreed that the beer we tasted here was absolutely delicious!
Can't speak to the food, as we only had appetizers, but would easily recommend the nachos, which were outstanding.
We enjoyed the very nice covered patio (which I believe is enclosed when the weather gets cold) and the atmosphere which was very relaxed. Unlike other reviews, I thought the service was excellent, and got some good beer recommendations from our server.
Beer Run isn't a big place so you may have to wait for a table, but it's worth it. Parking's not a problem (unlike downtown mall establishments).
Will definitely return next time I'm down visiting my son at UVA. Only sorry I didn't discover this place years ago.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_D21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beer Run”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

While visiting with my Godchild on my annual Fall visit to Charlottesville, he always tries to find different venues for us to chow down. This restaurant was one of his suggestions and it was fabulous. The store/restaurant is filled with all kinds of natural and/or organic foods, snacks, candies, etc... The beer selection is amazing as is the wine room. I actually found Evolution 9, a white wine, I enjoy and was bought and presented to me as a surprise by my Godchild, Michael. The food was very very delicious, fresh and not ready made. You waited a while but it was well worth it. I had the caprese panini, the others had Turkey and A salad. Definitely will make this a return trip on my Spring visit next year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeybunch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
425 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Tries too hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I've eaten here a few times and each time what I order from the menu always sounds so much better than what I get. While I like the outdoor seating and the indoor space, the food is just never quite what I want or what I expect.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The serve is lacking to say the least. We sat there for over a 1/2 for our server-whom never showed up and the hostess ended up taking our order. When the check came it was the wrong check. We won't go back

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sissy220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Run also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Beer Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing