We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

First Colony Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The wine wasn't very good. It was forgettable - there are many better wineries in the area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeromeandkendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    10
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice staff, terrible wine”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

So not worth the trip, the wines are sweet and awful. The best one (still terrible) tastes like a banana...so not worth the trip. there are so many good wineries in town that this place just cannot compete.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank kristinawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Finally got here - and really enjoyed it! Nice wedding venue too”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

There wasn't anyone here by the time we arrived at the end of Memorial Day weekend, and the staff were warm and friendly. Meanwhile, what you get for your money far surpasses many of the vineyards in the area -- they even brought out some reserves fro tasting. There were some amazing surprises here, including the Zephyr which was on sale. We brought a bottle with us to Switzerland and the folks here (who are a bit picky about their wine) loved it. I'd now put this winery on my list of "must go to" if you have some time to visit Virigina Wine Country (other "Must Dos" are Jefferson Vineyards (best selection in overall quality - but most pricey), Afton Vineyards (wonderful view and good reds), Veritas Vineyards (nice setting and overall decent selection of wines), Rockbridge Vineyard (for their Norton and V'Dor) and Barren Ridge Vineyards (get the reserve tasting menu for the amazing heritage - and amazing award winning wines).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent reds”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This winery under a previous owner was a disaster and was named Trotier Creek. Now it is quite good and well worth a tasting

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DonKinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I wish we could have made it here”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I did a wine tour and EVERYONE with whom we spoke, all said this was their favorite winery, but unfortunately we weren't able to make it. I heard only wonderful things about them though and we intend to go next time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank floridaflightgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Colony Winery also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to First Colony Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing