We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Monticello
from $150.00
More Info
from $1,040.00
More Info
Reviews (6,479)
Filter reviews
6,479 results
Traveler rating
5,018
1,141
224
53
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,018
1,141
224
53
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews house tour behind the scenes thomas jefferson shuttle bus slavery tour visitor center jefferson's life first floor sally hemings regular tour grave site family tour jefferson family gift shop slave quarters american history dome room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 6,479 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2019

The grounds of Monticello are breathtaking. The home and furnishings are a historic museum in themselves. The outbuildings, gardens, and lifestyle exhibits are memorable and worth the time.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank LINDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Thomas Jefferson knew what he was doing when he picked this spot. Seeing his home design was impressive. We were there for about 4 hours but felt like we needed more time. We did not pay for any extra tours though we did do the slavery tour which I highly recommend. Our guide dad extensive knowledge and answered questions in detail.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank j3ffr3y111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

The regular house tour is well done but the afternoon "Hemings Family Tour" was exceptional. The guide Stu Wilson superbly led a small group for more than two hours in exploring the rich and complex lives of enslaved persons at Monticello, as well as the white Jeffersons. This was so much more than the well recognized story of Sally Hemings, revealing the multi-generational story of a family that sheds light on American history. Try to get Stu as your guide--he made it all come alive.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank dag452015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

What a trip through history! They, like other historic sites, have now incorporated the story of enslaved people with two tours dedicated to them. They probably have 8 different tours and due to timing, it is difficult to do them all. It would be nice if they would arrange/package the tours so you could easily do more. Plus, the ticket office is not at the mansion, so if you decide to do more then you have to shuttle back down to ticket office! Ugh! Poor planning.

This place is a must see and set aside at least 4 to 6 hours.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Aleta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

Our first trip to this attraction. Really enjoyed the tour of the home. So much to learn and to see. Beautiful grounds--with so many flowers.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank rstrimel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews