We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting & intriguing”

Thomas Jefferson's Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monticello and its many historical rooms, gadgets, furniture, buildings, and artifacts tell us a lot about Thomas Jefferson, the president who built it and lived there.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very interesting & intriguing”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I love history and knew enough to know Jefferson was an inventor and was intrigued by the fact he was a thinker & analyst. Our docent was EXCELLENT in describing the home architecture and his inventions, the family and their everyday life. We did the "Behind the Scenes" tour. Highly recommend if you are intrigued by Jefferson's mind; grounds were very nice and I learned a lot I did not know. Recommended! Beautiful setting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wbacowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,119
    921
    160
    37
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Glimpse of the Past”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our tour of Montecello was interesting and enlightening. The grounds are beautiful. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. There is much to see and enjoy at the Visitors' Center as well. The movie on Thomas Jefferson is a good introduction before seeing the mansion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank X1life4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Most Interesting!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was such a wonderful tour! Our guide was so informative. We took both the garden tour and the slave tour after viewing the house. It was crowded the day we went, but it did not seem to be an issue as they limit the size of the groups for the house tour. Be sure to wear sunscreen if you are taking part in the outdoor tours. The welcome center has restrooms and a snack bar. A shuttle runs every 5 minutes to take you to the house.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimivfl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Always wanted to visit Monticello and finally got the chance to do so couple weekends ago. Tickets are available online and on-site. I recommend purchasing online as you need to make a time slot reservation for the main house tour.

The standard house tour is about 40 minutes. Our guide was every knowledgable and enthusiastic about everything Jefferson and Monticello. He made the tour both informative and fun at the same time.

Also included in standard admission are garden tour and slavery tour. Those both start on the hour, every hour, on Monticello's west lawn. They are about 45 minutes each, and you can join them before or after the house tour. So plan your day around them if you want to participate in these two optional tours.

Food and drink options are limited to the mountain top store once you are at Monticello. Just make sure you are well-fed and hydrated at the visitor's center before making the trek or taking the shuttle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Selion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A great piece of History.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

A wonderful tour. We got there early to beat the crowds. Was a good choice on a hot day. Very nice tour of house and we also took the optional slavery tour and saw the rooms under the house. At $25 a person a good value. Fortunately I could use handicapped parking as the parking spaces are limited (another good reason for getting there early). An excellent glimpse of life in the time of Jefferson.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rfenton231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Jefferson's Monticello also viewed

 

Been to Thomas Jefferson's Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing