We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant, remarkable man!”

Thomas Jefferson's Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monticello and its many historical rooms, gadgets, furniture, buildings, and artifacts tell us a lot about Thomas Jefferson, the president who built it and lived there.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Montgomery AL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a brilliant, remarkable man!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best historical sites in America.
Jefferson was, without question, one of the most brilliant minds in history. His obvious hunger for knowledge and desire to share was incredible.
The home is wonderful, the tours and guides are wonderful-take as many as you can-and the grounds and scenery are beautiful. Spend the day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LogicTransformed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,024
    896
    155
    37
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must-see!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

a must for anyone visiting the region - the gardens are amazing - especially being able to see the vegetable TJ planted that are still thriving today. Very nice gift shop too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank IvyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Trip Back In Time”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

see this place was amazing. You learn a lot about one of our former presidents and the way of life back then. It was very interesting to my wife and I how Thomas Jefferson would write about slavery yet continue to use slaves. They have done a really good job preserving this place. The architecture was really marvelous. This should be a must see on your list. Get there early it can get crowded and wear comfortable shoes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly hills, fl
Level Contributor
301 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A rewarding review of a remarkable man”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having visited several Presidential sites this was on the to do list and I am glad I did. The tour guide gave the tour remarkable insight into our 3rd President. The man was really brilliant with his design for the house and the many inventions that he created within to make life easier for him and his servants. The gardens were just beautiful with the many seasonal flowers in bloom at the time. I would highly recommend the garden tour about 1 hour that is included with the admission price. One will also see the vegetable and herb farm that is still in use growing vegetables from seed handed down from the plants produced in Jefferson's day. The plants will have a TJ on the row label. Another very interesting tour is the slave tour learning about how the slaves lived. At the visitors center there is a movie on Jefferson's life and a cafeteria. A must see when in the area. If you have been to Mount Vernon(Washington ) you will also enjoy the Jefferson estate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very educational - be sure to attend all the tours”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a very busy place. After buying your ticket at the visitor center, you take the shuttle up the hill to Monticello. Tours start every 5 minutes and your ticket will tell you which one you are in. The house is very impressive and the guide was excellent, as other reviewers have noted.

There are two other tours you can take while you are there -- a Slave tour and a Garden tour. You can jump in and out of either as you like. I did part of the garden tour and then wandered around on my own. I did the full slave tour. Both were interesting, especially the stories on the slave tour.

You can choose to take the shuttle back down to the visitor center when you are finished, or walk down. We chose to walk. Either way, you can see the Jefferson gravesite on the way down. It is an operating family cemetery and is gated.

Be prepared walk a lot.

Great views!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Jefferson's Monticello also viewed

 

Been to Thomas Jefferson's Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing