We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tasting Experience Ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas Jefferson's Monticello

Thomas Jefferson's Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monticello and its many historical rooms, gadgets, furniture, buildings, and artifacts tell us a lot about Thomas Jefferson, the president who built it and lived there.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Tasting Experience Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I feel in love with their Petit Verdot and their Rielsing!! The atmosphere was nice. It seemed like a popular picnic spot as well. The gentlemen that did our tasting was fantastic. It was $10 tasting for 11 wines (and you kept the wine glass-a riedel, which was nice quality). I am so upset that I did not get his name, though I believe he has quite a following as folks were waiting in line behind us for him!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSeybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,778
    831
    146
    33
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The House of Freedom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My mother, daughter and I are fortunate to have experienced Monticello.-
The Mountaintop as the Virginians call it. The lovely house of President Thomas Jefferson.
From the moment you park and get in the bus that drives you to the Mountaintop, a delightful and different pleasant experience begins. Mr. Jefferson's good soul continues to be a definite part of his home. You will feel a sense of peace as you tour the house and gardens where the patriot writer of our Constitution lived with his family. On his desk you will see his glasses and a copy machine he invented to keep copy of all documents he wrote, you will also see some of his books, many were sold to the Library of Congress when he was alived.
To disperse the contant question as to why the man who wrote about the pursuit of happiness also had slaves: He loved his slaves and were treated humanely according to history. What if he had freed them, where would they go in an American where blacks were slaves at that time?
To keep them safe I strongly believe, hope it was for that humane reason. For sure to be a slave of President Jefferson was to be in sacred grounds I suppose.
We greatly enjoyed it, hope and recommend that you plan your trip, especially with the children. They will be able to tell their friends and write papers for their class on this great experience. We have only visited once and hope to come back, but many other visitors had come often. Spring and summer I think is best to visit to avoid the cold.
Thank you for reading and happy holidays coming up soon. & happy travels!
Nov. 15, 2012
Adria Martinez
West Palm Beach, FLorida.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank fabulous873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petal, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing glimpse into history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

A colleague of mine and I made time during a recent business trip to visit Monticello. With our journey taking us through Charlottesville, it was too tempting not to take the opportunity to see the historic home of Thomas Jefferson. I have visited several historic homes and sites over the years. I would have to say this was the most diligently maintained historic site I've ever seen. It was an incredible learning experience and a true glimpse 'back in time' of what life was like for the Jefferson family, their friends and their servants and slaves as well. There is a wonderful visitor's center with a museum, cafe, theatre & gift shop. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the home and grounds. I was pleasantly surprised at the ticket prices for the guided tours. Much less than what I expected to pay. After the formal house tour, guests are encouraged to explore the grounds which include sites of the slaves homes, workshops, gardens and other areas of interest. It's incredible the amount of history still to be learned from Monticello. Archeological excavations were actually underway on the grounds while we were there. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and there is a lovely nature trail. You can also walk down a path behind the home to visit Mr. Jefferson's gravesite.
When you visit Monticello, be sure to allow plenty of time for your stay. There is so much to see, so much to learn, you definitely do not want to be rushed.
Very well worth your time to visit Monticello.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tripper39465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Plan to spend the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived at Monticello at 9am and spent the entire day immersed in the world of Thomas Jefferson. I would suggest making reservations ahead of time on line for the two house tours that are available. The second floor tour is limited to 15 people and tends to fill up quickly. The garden tour and the slavery tour are both outside and do not require reservations. The guides on all the tours were excellent...well informed and entertaining. The grounds are beautiful and a pleasure to stroll around on a beautiful day. The new visitor center has an excellent gift shop as well as an introductory movie and a nice cafe serving food made with local ingredients. Check the weather report before going since so much of the Monticello experience is outside you really don't want to be there if it's raining.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“True piece of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Jefferson was 1 smart man. all of this is exemplified through out his home and gardens. amazing how advanced he was with his tools , ice box, gardens and his writing machine. absolutely amazing place to visit if you haven't already

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gregoire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Jefferson's Monticello also viewed

 

Been to Thomas Jefferson's Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing