We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helped make our weekend special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Court Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Court Square
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helped make our weekend special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our decision to stay at the Inn at Court Square was definitely one of our better ones. The staff (especially Sandy (sp?)) were excited to provide suggestions as to where we should eat/drink/shop and the quiches in the morning were a delicious treat! When's the last time you had a homemade quiche? So between the food, staff, location (walkable to everything!) and comfortable bed we definitely plan to return! I will say if you are used to sleeping with a fan there was not a ceiling fan in our room, and I don't know if there were in other rooms, but next time I'm traveling with one because I count on one to sleep and we couldn't adjust the temp of our room. Hope you like it as much as we did!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs in the main house which was ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    17
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
64
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in an adjoining suite with two friends and were all very pleased with the accommodations and service. Sandy is fantastic! He made us feel right at home upon arrival, made sure we had everything we needed, and even showed us how to get to the football game shuttle. The location is great - central to the city market area and close to restaurants, etc. And we were all happy with the rooms as well. They have embraced the historic architecture and history of the building but have upgraded the rooms with modern TVs, great beds/linens, etc. It was the best of both worlds. We would definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling-politico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful B&B. The decor is exquisite and the staff are charming. Our room was elegant and comfortable. All of this you will
no doubt read in the other reviews. Here's the thing though, the food is amazing! We had dinner on the night we arrived.
Our hostess gave us a complimentary small appetizer of stuffed mushroom served with the best biscuits I have ever eaten. To follow, I had the vegetable torte, which was perfectly cooked and delicious. My wife had crabcakes, which we both agreed were the most wonderful crabcakes we had ever enjoyed. To finish we shared a chocolate bread pudding and a berry compote, both of which were beyond delicious.

Breakfast was beautifully laid out with homemade granola, a dish of fresh berries, yogurt, strawberries, cottage cheese, sweet bread, tea coffee and juice. We were then served a wonderful quiche; the lightest and most flavorsome quiche imaginable. We followed this with berry bread pudding: fabulous!

I would visit this bed-and-breakfast again in a heartbeat. It is the epitome of tasteful professionalism. The entire team should be very proud and we are very grateful.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peccadillo1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you have been to Charlottesville (and if you haven't, beat a path there, fast), you're aware that while you'll want a car, you'll also want a room near the historic main street "pedestrian mall" to explore restaurants and shops on foot with ease and convenience. The Inn at Court Square, one block away, is a B&B that cannot be topped. Delicious food, beautiful accommodations, warm and friendly service by the innkeepers ... We could run out of superlatives describing these and still want to go on and on about this spot. Our trip was planned well in advance, which sometimes means details get dropped as the date approaches, but not here: We had the room we requested and found the staff ready to greet us at the hour we planned to arrive. And -- no small thing -- we encountered none of the inconveniences that can be unpleasant surprises at B&B's, such as poor Internet connectivity, inadequate bathrooms, and limited TV. At the Inn at Court Square, we enjoyed the full range of cable, excellent wi-fi, and a large, downright luxurious bathroom. Charlottesville is a town with much to offer, but we could have stayed put in our room and been perfectly content. The Inn is that wonderful. Do not make the mistake of staying in a motel along the highway when there's a place like this two miles away!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are more subject to noise from hallways because there's more activity on that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My 12 year old daughter and I decided to stay here while we were in Charlottesville for a squash tournament at UVA. We had a 9-10 hour drive from Ohio, and we arrived at about 7:45pm. Sandy was there to meet us and he was so friendly and welcoming. We were made to feel so welcome from the second we stepped out of the car. We had originally reserved a room in the 1785 house, but upon arrival Sandy told us he had a surprise for us. He took us over to the 1920 house next door and we went upstairs and he showed us a gorgeous 2 bedroom suite on the second floor with a beautiful living room, large king bedroom, television in both bedrooms and the living room and a small but comfortable bathroom with all amenities. Sandy told us that it was a complimentary upgrade and that he felt we would really enjoy ourselves in that room. WE loved it so much we decided to stay an extra day.

The breakfast in the morning was so delicious and fresh and all the staff were wonderful, friendly and genuinely seemed happy that we were there. They made sure that our every need was met. We felt like we had the whole 1920 house to ourselves, it was so quiet and cozy. Everything is decorated to perfection and every need is anticipated. There was a Kuerig machine in the downstairs hallway with teas, coffees, and fresh baked cookies. There was a closet that had a refrigerator and ice and the room had an abundance of books, magazines and everything to make you comfortable. The bed was so comfortable and the linens were heavenly soft. This trip was special because of the wonderful hosts at the Inn and the gorgeous, comfortable room we were in. I will never stay anywhere else when I am in Charlottesville. It is well worth every penny- I felt like we had our own private home! Thank you to ALL the staff and the owner for making our stay so memorable and special! We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved our gorgeous suite on the second floor in the 1920 house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcberling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Inn at Court Square is a charming B&B just a block from the walking mall in downtown Charlottesville. The owner was very accommodating when we requested a later check in due to our plans, and we were pleasantly surprised upon our arrival to learn that we had been given a complimentary upgrade on our room. The buildings (there are two) are very old (dating back to the 1800s and early 1900s), and the creaky floors and somewhat small bathrooms attest to this fact. However, the rooms are clean and well decorated, while the bed/bedding was luxuriously comfortable. The Gilchrist and Soames products were a nice touch, too. I also cannot say enough about the staff's efforts to make us feel welcomed. Breakfast was freshly baked banana bread, fresh fruit, and a delicious choice of vegetarian or sausage quiche made on the premises. My husband and I were quite happy to spend a bit more for the personal attention, prime location, and delicious breakfast that this property offered. One caution - as others have noted, the parking in the back is very tight, and the access to it involves driving down a narrow passageway between the two buildings. If you have a larger vehicle - SUV or van - be prepared for a tight squeeze. We were fortunate that the lot was partially empty...not sure how we would have navigated our way back out had the situation been otherwise. There is street parking all around the property, but it is a 2 hour maximum stay between 8AM-6PM.

Room Tip: Every room is different - check the website for descriptions and photographs. Our room, the Opie No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were celebrating a 70th birthday by spending three nights in Charlottesville, Virginia at the Inn at Court Square, which is the oldest building in this very historic town. LOCATION: right on the main square with terrace overlooking a lovely park, two blocks from the pedestrian mall. Four miles from Monticello - one mile from U. of VA. Total silence at night. Parking behind the Inn. HOSPITALITY: the initial telephoned reservation immediately indicated pleasant things to come. And when Pat greeted us, we knew we had picked the right place. Comfortable room with sitting area, beautiful linens and wonderful bathroom with great shower. Pat, Sandy, and Keahi were supreme in their various duties. Pat: in charge of local information, useful tid-bits and PASTRY!!! ...Pastry? we will get to that later. Sandy: also host extraordinaire and dinner waiter. Keahi: morning breakfast and lunch guru, - a cheerful person to start one's day with. Candance DeLoach, owner, designer/decorator/antique dealer and friendly conversationalist.
Now, let's get to the FOOD: BREAKFAST -- freshly ground coffee, teas, orange juice, homemade granola placed in a large bowl surrounded with a generous and decorative assortment of mixed berries/local yogurt if you wish. Selection of mixed mini muffins - (this is where Pat the pastry chef comes in) - and... slices of authentic French quiche - I mean, the kind you only get in Paris. DINNER -served Thurs. Friday or Sat. We began with the most incredible cold fresh pea soup with a touch of mint. We then selected the Savannah Pecan Crusted Chicken with a bourbon blackberry sauce, snap peas and spiced roasted sweet potatoes. And for the vegetarian - creamy rich mushroom Perlau with a variety of rices and wheat berries, asparagus on the side. DESERT - homemade heavenly chocolate cake and the best New York Cheese Cake. I am from NYC and know the difference. We were delighted to discuss our wonderful dinner with Chef Jess Martin after we licked out plates clean! All in all, the combination of the above, with special kudos to the knowledgeable team who make this place highly unusual in a world bleakly bereft of the concept of service with a smile, made our celebratory few days memorable. 5 stars!! I suggest you make a dinner reservation when you reserve your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Court Square

Property: The Inn at Court Square
Address: 410 E. Jefferson St., Charlottesville, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Inn At Court Square Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing