We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy travelors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Charlottesville
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“happy travelors”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at the Omni for a few days while touring Charlottesville. Parking on site. Clean modern hotel. We did not try the restaurant on site since the hotel was in walking distance of so many places to eat. The little plaza/outdoor mall is steps away for some shopping and food. Short drive to Monticello and Poplar Forest if you are Thomas Jefferson fans. University of Virginia is 5 minute car ride. We took a tour of the campus as Thomas Jefferson was the architect for the main core buildings. Tour is given by students and is very interesting. Edgar Allen Poe's room is there among other interesting alumni.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monarch8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Omni Charlottesville on TripAdvisor. We are glad you found our location to be convenient for dining and sightseeing and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    482
    139
    56
    17
See reviews for
384
508
67
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
389 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I normally try to stay at marriott hotels when I travel and have always stayed at them in Charlottesville, but they were all booked. Finally stayed at the Omni. Wow. First of all, it has a perfect location sitting right on the edge of the Mall. You can walk everywhere. From the moment I pulled up, the excellent customer service was impressive. The lobby and atrium are nice and the hotel bar / restaurant (The Pointe) is pretty good and has a nice outdoor patio. The room was excellent with very comfortable bedding. The bathroom was a little small and the door was in the way when trying to use the toilet or shower. There is construction going on in the hotel (I think) as one elevator was not working. A little inconvenient when I had to wait nearly 7 minutes for an elevator in the morning. There was some detioriation around the air intake vent in my room...not sure what that was about. FInally, I was very impressed with the fitness center. Sure, it was small, but much better equipped and taken care of than nearly every hotel I have ever stayed in--plenty to get a great basic workout (and there were towels on every machine and fresh water to drink). Overall, this hotel was great and exceeded my expectations. The next time I am in C-ville, I will definitely look to stay here as my first option.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshb2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for your generous review of The Omni Charlottesville on TripAdvisor. We consider it a huge compliment that after staying at our competitors we are now your Charlottesville hotel of choice. When you return you will be relieved to see that both elevators are now functioning after some downtime as we transitioned them to high speed elevators. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed at the Omni Charlottesville for one night in late August as part of a family road trip holiday. We arrived slightly earlier than check-in time but the gentleman on Reception was extremely helpful and said our room was ready. The hotel is very central, at one end of the pedestrianised mall; it is an unusually shaped building which I think added personality whilst still remaining primarily a businesslike hotel. Our room overlooked the internal central atrium, which meant there was no outside light - I think if we had stayed for more than one night this would not have been ideal, but for our short stay, it was fine. The beds were very comfortable - the bathroom was a little small, but perfectly workable. My children used the swimming pool twice and really enjoyed it both times. There is a free trolley around Charlottesville which travels around the town centre and up to the University; it stops very near the hotel and is a great way to find your bearings if you are a new visitor to Charlottesville. Overall, this is a great hotel, with personality and modern facilities in the most central location in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We are pleased to read that your family enjoyed your quick getaway to The Omni Charlottesville. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I've stayed at this Omni hotel several times, and each time it's been a pleasure. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the rooms have been very clean. The staff is terrific, and have always treated me with great kindness.

Pros: The pool at this hotel is quite large for a hotel of this size. The whirlpool is also quite large. Massages are offered on site for a fee. Rooms are clean, and the beds are great. Large flat screen tvs in the bedrooms. Free parking. Was given a glass of champagne upon arriving. Free lemon or cucumber water in the lobby. New elevators (previous ones had been ricketty). Oh! The location is terrific! The Downtown Mall is a great place to walk around and eat and drink.

Cons: The rooms can be a bit noisy to hallway and neighboring room noise. A bit expensive for the area.

I really love this place. Consider the other inns in the area, but this is the best of the HOTELS in the University area (including Farmington and Boars Head).

Room Tip: Avoid the corner rooms, they are oddly shaped and sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyRage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your complimentary review of The Omni Charlottesville. We are thrilled that you consider us to be the best in Charlottesville and we hope to provide you with many more exceptional stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The hotel has a fantastic location because it anchors one end of the downtown mall (pedestrianized area downtown). It has free covered parking for hotel guests (ignore the sign saying you have to pay, the arm goes up automatically when there is no one in the booth).

The fitness facility is adequate (only one treadmill, 2 ellipticals, 2 bikes, some freeweights in the intermediate range between guy ad girl weights, a lat pull down and some balance balls). Most of the cardio equipment has a TV attached. There's an indoor pool, an outdoor pool and a hot tub (that looked kind of scary, it was more like a pit, it was so deep).

The beds were ... terrible! There's soft, then there's saggy. These mattresses were definitely saggy. Also, I don't know what's going on with the bedding, but ours was both startched and not clean. I requested foam pillows from housekeeping and they came in pillowcases that might have been used as rags as some point they were so filthy and tired (I stripped the case off and took one off a pillow on the bed).

Our room also smelled like mold, likely from the AC. There was also a wet patch on the carpet next to the AC. The windows did not open.

I think of this hotel as a conference hotel because it has a conference facility attached, and also because it has a ton of rooms with 2 double beds (e.g., for people sharing rooms at student conferences). That is, on a Sunday night, we couldn't get a king bed period and had to settle for 2 doubles (btw, both sagged and I woke up with terrible back pain and I only weigh 125lbs).

Notes:
* Half the rooms face the atrium inside, so the odds of an "inside" view are high!
* If you belong to their free loyalty program, you get free wifi in your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Former_grad_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We regret to read about your experience at our hotel but understand that you have had the chance to speak with our Director of Housekeeping. We are thankful for the opportunity to learn what room you were in so that we may make the changes necessary to bring the room up to the luxury standards that our guests expect. Please accept our apologies and we hope for a second chance to provide you with the luxury accommodations and service our guests have come to expect of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I stayed her for two night with my family. We knew the right was going to be a little cramped, so that wasn't a shocker. What was hard to deal with was the VERY small bathroom with 4 people. It was hard to open the bathroom door because you had to be standing practically over the toilet to do so. Also, if one person was taking a shower, while you were at the sink, the person at the sink would have to leave the bathroom so the person in the shower could get out. Also, the room service was a rip off. We were OK with what we got, except for the coffee. They BARELY give you enough coffee for one cup and paid almost 3 dollars for it. Other than the two issues, it was a nice place to stay. Great location to the mall, rooms were very clean, and the staff was great. If I ever come back, I make look for another hotel, but will keep this one in mind.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlmccray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay at The Omni Charlottesville. We apologize that you found the bathroom to be a little smaller than you were expecting and are also disappointed to read about your room service experience. If you return we encourage you to take advantage of our complimentary Select Guest Loyalty Program. One of the many perks of the program is beverage delivery service in the morning at no charge. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope you will decide to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

As mentioned in many other reviews, the Omni's location is very good, just at the end of the pedestrian mall. We stayed for one night, and were glad we had booked here.

Our room was a good size and very clean. It was a little disconcerting to see how small the bathroom was--tub/shower combination practically up against the toilet, but it was just one night. Check-in and check-out both very efficient. All the staff members we dealt with were very pleasant.

We did not eat breakfast at the Omni. There is a very busy McDonald's and a Subway in a small shopping center just across the street that came in handy for a quick meal before we got underway the next day.

I would stay here again if my travels take me to Charlottesville again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TxOffWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for writing a review of The Omni Charlottesville on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.8 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Charlottesville

Property: Omni Charlottesville
Address: 212 Ridge McIntire Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-5042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Charlottesville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Omni Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing