We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Omni Charlottesville
Nearby Hotels
The English Inn of Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$139
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UVA Inn at Darden(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$107
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$137
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$141
$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$144
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$112
$102
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boar's Head Resort(Charlottesville)
$165
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,939)
Filter reviews
1,939 results
Traveler rating
1,154
537
161
65
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,154
537
161
65
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspedestrian mallgreat locationselect guestself parkingrestaurants and shopscorner roombreakfast buffetoutdoor malloutdoor poolexcellent hotelmain streetbusiness tripfront desk stafffitness centerhistoric downtownexcellent stayeasy access
Filter
Updating list...
1,763 - 1,768 of 1,939 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We chose the Omni to stay at while waiting for our new place to be ready when moving to the area. We stayed in one of the two-room suites which we had known about because the first time we stayed here we were upgraded into one and it was perfect. One room had a king bed and the other had a sofa bed. We actually had hoped for one with a little kitchenette but they didn't have one available. Since it was just for a couple days it was fine. The rooms were both clean and it was plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids. The front-desk staff was also very helpful.

The location of the Omni is wonderful if you are going to be doing anything downtown. It anchors one end of the Downtown pedestrian mall so you can walk to many stores, restaurants and bars. The free trolley also stops right in front of the hotel so you can use that to get to UVA Grounds or any place else along the route.

The pool is small, but nice. It was never crowded when we went. There is also a small gym.

It doesn't come with breakfast or anything which is unfortunate, but if you are a member of the loyalty program you do get a beverage and I believe cookies which is nice. The kids definitely liked that part!

We recommend the Omni to people coming in who want to stay near downtown since you can walk anyplace and it is a nice, clean hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloesmomNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Thank you for recommending the Omni Charlottesville on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us as you transitioned to your new home in Charlottesville. We appreciate all of your kind words and think you enjoy living in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The 5th trip on our Virginia adventure was the Omni in Charlottesville and in my opinion the second best hotel we stayed in on the whole trip. As soon as we got there, people made you feel welcome and the place is in a great location. When we arrived, we were directed to the car park which was free (a nice bonus) or you could have valet for $10 a day but it was so easy to get the car we didn’t bother.

We had come from another Omni where we had stayed in Richmond and the two could not have been more different! Richmond was much more cosmopolitan while this was much smaller and had a more relaxed feel about it. The reception is open planned, and they have a great open area where the lifts are, filled with plants and waterfalls. Lots of rooms look out onto the open courtyard, not sure if I would have liked this, but our room looked out over the pool so that was OK! Check in was fast, and when we asked for a King-size bed they agreed no problem and our room was upgraded as well as getting a later check out!

The rooms are very nice and clean as all hotel rooms should be. Nice big TV, bed and shower so nothing bad to report here! The room was very quiet and the second night we stayed here there was a high school reunion on and we didn't hear a thing! My favourite part of the hotel though was the gym and pool! The gym was amazing and could have been a franchise gym like LA Fitness! It had loads of Cardio equipment and a big free weights section which is rare for a hotel, I have found! The pool was just as good and there wasn’t one there were two! Once inside and one outside and even a Jacuzzi as well! All were very clean and great to use! The hotel even offered massages but I didn’t take them up on this so can’t comment!

I personally didn’t rate Charlottesville; it’s one of those places that seemed to cater for older people and families, not really a couples place. The university was nice but not a day trip put, Thomas Jefferson’s house I thought personally was very expensive to get to! We did however go to a great Orchard which had outstanding views of Charlottesville and great cider!

The hotel is situated right at the top of the historic downtown which is great for restaurants and the theatre. There are some really nice places to eat down here so the hotel is great for the town, and out the front are a McDonalds and Staples if you want to shop some electronics etc.!

Overall, I was glad we were only spending 48 hours in Charlottesville, but the hotel was what made the trip! Excellent customer service, great location, amazing pool and gym and free parking! If you are ever in Charlottesville then this is defiantly is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Valet parking is $10, parking your own car is free!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danimation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Many thanks for your glowing review of The Omni Charlottesville. We are delighted that we could be the highlight of your time in Charlottesville and we were also pleased to read that you had just come from our Omni in Richmond. Thank you for choosing Omni Hotels for your Virginia Tour and we hope for the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Omni offered attentive service and comfortable, clean and nicely decorated rooms. We received free morning beverages delivered to our room since we signed up for the Omni Select Guest Program. Hotel is situated at the end of the downtown walking mall, so restaurants and boutiques are just out the doors. Fitness center was stocked with towels and chilled lemon water. Many unexpected luxuries!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNP53006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Located on the 'Mall' area of historic Charlottesville with convenient walking to shops, restaurants, art galleries, live music venues, and the University of Virginia. Gracious staff and well-maintained property with covered parking. In town transit just outside of hotel to all points in the city. Mall starts here and is an adventure in every way! Monticello a short five miles away.

Room Tip: Ask for views of the Blue Ridge Mts. or the University area.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekDonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My spouse and I stayed at this hotel over the Memorial Day weekend in late May 2011. This hotel has a prime location on the downtown pedestrian mall. The hotel was a bit difficult to find by car, but perhaps relying solely on our GPS led us astray. It’s also difficult to see the hotel entrance from the street, as well as its name on the marquis over the door. An atrium filled with trees and a fountain is quite attractive; part of the restaurant/bar also enters into the lobby, making it a pleasant place to eat or drink. The hotel restaurant also has outdoor seating overlooking the mall. Outside the entrance to the restaurant, complimentary coffee is offered in the morning; complimentary water is offered in the lobby throughout the rest of the day. The hotel has a small coffee shop serving Starbucks products, but it is only open limited hours; the shop also sells items that you may have forgotten and a few souvenir items. Be sure to sign up for the Omni Select Guest program, which delivers a hot beverage and a cold beverage to every guest in your room at a self-selected time each morning, along with either a local or national newspaper. In the evenings, Select Guests receive a turndown, with some sort of small bar snack and bottled water. (We’ve enjoyed this Omni perk for years, and always wonder how long they can maintain this complimentary service for their guests.) Self-parking is free in a covered garage (alternatively, it costs $10 to valet park). We did not get a room upgrade despite having a coupon; the hotel was supposedly sold out because it was hosting a wedding that weekend. (The atrium area featured both an afternoon reception and an evening reception on the Saturday night that we were there, showing that we were not the only people who found the space attractive.) The hotel has a gym and an indoor/outdoor pool. Both parts of the pool are small, but it was nice to sit outside and get some sun and take a dip if the weather is cooperative. (There were about six lounge chairs, and one table with four chairs and an umbrella.) Our standard king-size room was very large and comfortable, but bathroom was quite small and dated; there is barely enough room for one person to stand, and you could not close the door without squeezing past the toilet. The free city shuttle throughout the town stops near the hotel, but it’s also possible to walk to many restaurants and shops on the pedestrian mall. I would definitely stay here again - the location can’t be beat!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank fluffnfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

We appreciate your review of The Omni Charlottesville Hotel. We apologize that you initially had trouble finding our entrance. GPS systems will frequently bring travelers to the back of our hotel instead of our main entrance. We've been working to resolve this issue with many of the GPS providers but until we can have it corrected, we list an alternate address on our website directions that will bring you directly to our main entrance. Thank you for all of the compliments you shared in your review and for being a loyal customer of Omni Hotels. We are thrilled that you enjoy our Select Guest program and hope to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews