We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night stay, well located, clean and tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently stayed at this HI near the college. Older, but recently remodeled. Very clean and very hospitable staff. Enjoyed the hotel and outdoor pool. We had a room at the end of the hall that was odd shaped. It had a gigantic foyer/hall extension upon entering the room. It was like they had forgotten this part of the hotel in the design. I could have been an excellent suite if they had incorporated the space into the room.

Room Tip: Try a room away from the road as there is a lot of traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Our great team works hard to provide a warm and inviting atmosphere for our guests. We are glad to hear you appreciate our efforts.
In fact, the corner room described is large and unique! And we see the opportunity that you did. We will begin renovating those corner rooms later this summer to create new suites. We invite you to come back and request one of these special new rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 314 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here to be near a relative in the hospital. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was nice. There were plenty of places to eat and shop around the hotel and it was only minutes away from UVA and the hospital. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thanks for your great feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our proximity to great, UVA, many tourist attractions, shopping, and restaurants are valued by many of our guests. In addition to so many other retail and eateries, the new upscale Shops at Stonefield boasts great shopping, a movie theater, great restaurants and is right across the street from the hotel. We also invite guests to try Emmet's restaurant which is located right inside the Holiday Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

the room was pretty clean, beds were not so comfortable. there was nothing special about the hotel or the room so i thought it was a bit over priced. i also would have liked a free breakfast, but you had to pay unfortunately

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherryBlossom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for taking for taking the time to provide this feedback. While our team works hard to deliver a great stay experience for our guests, we are looking forward to a guest room redecoration this summer to increase our guest's value perception.
We also invite our guests to reserve the popular Best-4-Breakfast Package, which includes a full hot breakfast with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for the second time (prior visit in 2008), and saw noticeable improvements. Rooms, lobby, bar area, etc. All nicely upgraded. Very comfortable stay if visiting the Univ of Virginia and Charlottesville. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plz2meatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay, that is certainly one of our most important goals. And we are glad to hear that you found us convenient to the University and other attractions in the Charlottesville area. And we are excited that past improvements were well received. We are optimistic that you will enjoy the improvements that we have planned for 2014. So come back and check out our progress over the next several months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The room was clean and pretty nice, except the phone and two of the lights were not working. Didn't ask to change room since we were only staying one night. There were two buses full of HS students checking in after us, so I guess this place tends to cater to travelling school events. The hotel is located near restaurants and a Trader Vic's as well as a bunch of shopping malls, so it's pretty convenient if you are tired and don't want to drive around looking for a place to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatOneRedux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We are happy to hear that you found us convenient to shopping and restaurants (most notably our own Emmet's restaurant). While we occasionally host some student groups, most of guests our families (leisure) and corporate travelers; so we work hard to ensure that our hotel would meet your needs!
We are very sorry that that we did not ensure that all the lights/phone were working properly in your room. We have reminded our team that that should be part of our daily routine when preparing guest rooms. We realize that you have multiple lodging choices, so we will do a better job ensuring a more consistently comfortable stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

we had a room around the corner in a nook. despite a bachelor's party in the main hall, we never heard a sound even though it was a Friday night and the hotel was full. breakfast was a choice of buffet or full service either of which was excellent.b

Room Tip: if you have a room in a nook hallway like we did, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for this valued feedback. Our team is dedicated to delivering great service to every guest and we are glad that your stay reflects our effort. We are especially glad to hear that you enjoyed our Holiday Inn Best-for-Breakfast experience. You can even reserve a special rate stay that includes breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked through Hotels.com and were placed in a smoking room. They said they had nothing else available and they would not issue a credit or refund for the second night so that we could move elsewhere. The room was in the basement and disconnected from the main part of the hotel. Dirty, dingy and horribly stinky. Nor was our room cleaned in a timely manner - we arrived back at 5pm and it still had not been cleaned. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We are sorry for your experience. I will work with our Housekeeping leadership to ensure our smoking rooms are in better shape and the smoke smell cleared after each guest departure. We are looking forward to guest room redecoration projects beginning later this summer to all rooms, that will especially upgrade our few smoking rooms.
Additionally, we encourage guests to book reservations through the hotel, our website, or Holiday Inn reservations; where you can take advantage of the Best Price Guarantee. Moreover, we will confirm a non-smoking room at the time of booking, if that is your preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
245 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St N, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $113 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing