We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here because our other choices were booked out. It was functional and convenient with plentiful parking and was fully booked due to a baseball weekend. It is showing signs of wear and tear and is a little tired.

For some reason I found the male front desk staff gruff and offhand, whereas the females were extremely helpful. The one exception was David, the concierge who was great. He fixed our phone and helped us with our internet which, when going, was fine. There was ample parking and although the hotel was busy, our room was quiet except for the loud snorer next door.

There are many dining chains close by but you need to take care if crossing the busy freeway. The breakfast in Emmets was adequate and the service was friendly.

We found it expensive, probably due to the high demand, but it did the job, although a little rough around the edges.

Room Tip: choose a high room away from lifts for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDoor_isopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 320 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Title says it all ... Very nice and friendly at check in. Very clean (though starting To show some age), and very quiet. Would stay here again. Convenient particularly to the University. Meals were, as would be expected, fairly expensive and pretty average.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradigmwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we just love staying at this Holiday Inn ,nice lobby,large clean rooms. & the restaurant called Emmets has the best food at reasonable prices.The staff are always friendly & the location is about 5 miles to city center/college area. My husband is now worried they are building a mall next door - I'm thrilled....

Room Tip: all the rooms we have had have been wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boggie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here on a weeknight for a business trip. Staff was friendly and attentive. Room was spacious and clean. Staff seemed to take pride in their job, which was refreshing. Had a drink in the bar, ate breakfast in the restaurant. Both were above average in service and quality. Downsides- I stayed on front side of property towards busy road, was rather noisy. I'm a heavy sleeper so this wasn't horrible. Walls were thin, could hear the clock radio and tv in next room. Also- a couple of details that really might seem picky to some but point to lack of leadership/ poor management to me: wanted a soda, machines are available on most floors, but were in need of service. Food machine was mostly empty and soda machines had product advertised that was so old the bottles had shriveled due to evaporation. That would be an easy fix but one that is literally years past due and shows lack of attention to detail. Seems like an easy revenue stream missed there. The other thing I thought was odd was that they go to the trouble of leaving a tv listing on the night stand that is completely wrong. Either don't leave it or type up a new one, neither would have hurt my feelings, but it seemed like another blatant lack of attention to detail. Overall- I would stay here again, but mostly because the staff friendliness and convenience. I paid less than $90 a night so that made it more attractive than most other local places.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jmzax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After reading the mixed reviews we were somewhat hesitant to book here, but other Charlottesville VA- area Holiday Inns could not guarantee a non-smoking room. Very pleasantly surprised! Used a combination of Priority Club points and $$, which made this a very reasonable motel stay. Right on the main Hwy into Charlottesville (Rt.29), convenient location, close to restaurants and shopping. Good Indian restaurant a short walk across front parking lot! Not overly impressed driving up, but the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. (Thanks Ali!) Hotel lobby and halls were very clean and appeared newly-remodeled. Our room (7th floor) was clean and fresh- nice linens, clean bathroom, cable tv, microwave and fridge hidden inside cabinet door. Only quirk was the elevator-- slow and noisy and no button for 3rd floor... L, 2, 4,5, 6, 7? Hmm. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel is fairly close to main road. Rooms on the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartieWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here on an October weekend. Was the last place we could find that had rooms. Marriott, Omni, Hilton, etc all sold out (and not a football weekend).
The Good: Staff found us a room. Better than sleeping in a car.
The Bad: Price, ouch!, last minute but still close to two hundred a night?
The Ugly: Room smelled, mold? mildew? Carpets and cleaning is questionable. Glad I don't have a CSI blue light to check for DNA.
No breakfast, just coffee. Room was quiet and beds were comfortable.
If you have to stay here you will live, but it would not be my choice if I had other options at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anonomuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear anonomuse,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am pleased that you found our location and staff service satisfactory enough for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with our room accommodations. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments.

Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I came to Charlotte on business. After a painful flight from Dallas I took care of some things late that night before heading to the hotel so I could start fresh the next day. I arrived at this Holiday Inn a little after 11:00 PM expecting to see tired staff; exasperated from the late shift, but to my surprise they were very kind, courteous, and attentive! We checked in with haste and she even pointed us in the direction of the nearest late-night restaurant. The room was clean, the water pressure in the shower better than average, and the beds comfortable and inviting. Thank you for the great service and great attitude! If i ever go back to that area I know where to hole up for the night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,062 reviews
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St N, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $93 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing