We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property, very dated. Got stuck in elevator on 7th floor for 10 minutes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Older property, very dated. Got stuck in elevator on 7th floor for 10 minutes.”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I used my reward points for this stay. I would not pay, unless it was Priceline. Older, very dated property. Dinner in retaurant was good, breakfast was not a good value. Worst part was getting stuck in the elevator. Hazard of an older hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momma0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    110
    75
    37
    31
See reviews for
101
66
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We got this room through Priceline, so it wasn't a personal choice to stay here. It was chosen for us, basically. This hotel was older and needs more updating. The room had a smokey and moldy smell, which was irritating. It is a non smoking hotel but since it is old the stale cigarette smoke was very apparent. I would not choose this hotel to stay in again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester Point, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel due to a memorial service. I have never stayed in a Holiday Inn. Simply because the name scared me away. Not anymore. These ladies went above and beyond for our entire family. I could not ask for a better front Desk Manager. She should be promoted. There was a wicked storm and power went out during our dinner. Clifton, the waiter/bartender did everythin in his power to make our dinner delightful. If you stay here, make sure to ask for them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This hotel confirmed to us that the larger Holiday Inn locations are not necessarily any better than the Express versions of their hotels. While it was just fine for a night, it was definitely set up to cater to those who are business travelers and/or able to spend more money on the road. The room was fine, and the pool worked just fine for our kids. The free coffee in the lobby was actually quite good, but the restaurant seemed a bit much for the casual vacationing family. Overall, we'd stay again if necessary, but our first choice was the one closer to Monticello (but sadly it was booked up).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventuringFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wise, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at this Holiday Inn for a weekend to visit some friends in town. The hotel staff were polite and very helpful. I accidentally deactivated one of the keys when I placed it near my cell phone and the staff was very understanding about providing us with a new key for our room. Our room was clean and spacious, with the only exception being the bathroom was a little small. It was manageable for a weekend, and with only 2 people, but could become an issue if staying for a longer period of time or with more people in the room.

I have seen other reviews of this hotel that described it as dated, and I disagree. It was not an "ultra modern" hotel, but it was tasteful and comfortable, with relatively new furnishings and amenities.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohirrim_maiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Unfortunately, due to UVA activities, hotels were limited and I had to pay $125/night for a room here. I could tell from the outside that this was an older hotel but when I walked in the lobby, I was pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere. However, then we went down the elevator and were welcomed with that old hotel smell. It got worse when we opened the door to our room and were hit with the aroma of fruitty carpet deodorizer. Then we discovered that the floor was covered with something sticky that made the bathmat stick to our feet. Because of that, we didn't get out of bed without putting shoes on. On a good note, the front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RBS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We were allowed to check in early ( about 1:30 ) which was welcome for us as weary travelers. Staff always helpful and friendly. Room was quite large for a discounted ($64) price. The hotel was near downtown and the UV.
There was a full service, all meal restaurant and a very nice indoor heated pool. The only problem was a fluorescent light in the bathroom that didn't work .

Room Tip: I got this roo m through Hotwire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ham_on_wry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Residence Inn Charlottesville
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Address: 1901 Emmet St N, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing