We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Deltona, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We were allowed to check in early ( about 1:30 ) which was welcome for us as weary travelers. Staff always helpful and friendly. Room was quite large for a discounted ($64) price. The hotel was near downtown and the UV.
There was a full service, all meal restaurant and a very nice indoor heated pool. The only problem was a fluorescent light in the bathroom that didn't work .

Room Tip: I got this roo m through Hotwire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ham_on_wry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    111
    76
    37
    32
See reviews for
102
66
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Churchville
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We had to make this unexpected trip due to an emergency family medical crises. The hotel desk clerk was VERY accommodating right from the beginning. She found us a room and gave us the UVA hospital "family rate" which was very helpful. We had to keep increasing our length of stay and with no problem at al our reservation was extended. The entire staff from the front desk to the restaurant to the manager (who seemed to always be there!) treated us with great care and were very kind to us during our stay. We have to return in the near future to take care of some related matters and we will most definitely stay at this hotel AND we will tell everyone we know how a wonderful group of caring individuals helped us through a very difficult time. We appreciate this opportunity to say "Thank you" to this terrific staff. We look forward to seeing them all again. --Linda

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljlapoITC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We thought the hotel was great. It was clean and although aging, the carpet was nice and the room was a good size and clean. We have stayed in Holiday Inn Express and others and we did not think this one was that different. It was convenient to the University, UVA hospital, shopping and highways we needed to be taking. Our window looked out at houses with large lots, it snowed and the view was beautiful. We also loved the pillows, all 4 of them some hard and some soft.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jones13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This hotel was awful aside from the lobby which seemed to be recently renovated. The room we stayed in was awful and very dirty. The bathroom door did not close or lock and there was no heavy curtain to keep the light out of the room at night while sleeping. Front desk person did not even answer the phone. I would never stay here again, saying that this is a three star hotel is VERY misleading...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Concernedtravel4323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2011

For the past several years I (along with some of my colleagues) have held a weekend retreat at this hotel. We have a total of about 125+ customers (predominately women) that participate in our event. This hotel has gone literally out of its way to accommodate us every year! Their event staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and impressive. They are extraodinary at the "details" of our events.

The food is very tasty! They serve over 450+ meals to us during our stay and each one has been excellent! Their head Chef is very talented. Their wait staff is courteous & respectful. Exactly what you want when you are hosting an event with women with high standards.

I highly recommend this hotel for your "conference" or your personal entertaining (weddings) needs. You will not be disappointed. The interior of their conference rooms are elegantly designed and appointed with classic, but modern details. The main ballroom is spacious! Not to mention clean and the room is always perfect.

The hotel room accommodations are very nice and have up-to-date electronics and many viewing options. And they are CLEAN!!

The hotel location is perfect! Very close to many nice restaurants, shopping areas, & the University. Staying here, you have a straight shot to the University's many athletic buildings & playing fields in less than 5 minutes (depending on the traffic lights).

You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I work often at University of Virginia and this is one of my hotel's of choice when working in Charlottesville, VA. It is convenient to the University and provides a great value in cost per night. It is clean, convenient, and rarely is sold out. The Restaurant is convenient, and in walking distance are some other great Restaurants. Shopping, retail and grocery, is very closeby. The staff have always been extremely helpful and friendly and the business center is always well appointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0112CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I use the conference facilities of this hotel weekly as part of a small church startup. The staff are delightful, from the managers to the desk clerks to the guys who cheerfully setup our room. Everyone takes pride in making things look nice. When there are problems with the sound equipment they get it fixed right away. Anything we need is treated like important business. I highly recommend the conference and banquet facilities.

If you happen to stay at this hotel on a Sunday please come by and see us! The front desk will cheerfully tell you where we are.

Warren Richardson,
All Points Christian Church

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Residence Inn Charlottesville
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
254 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Address: 1901 Emmet St N, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing