We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stopover place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great stopover place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Can't really find fault with this hotel - friendly, helpful staff, clean and modern rooms with all amenities, wifi in the room. They moved us to a different room when we didn't like the view (of the roof with the satellites!) with no trouble at all. There is a restaurant on-site that we didn't use, but looked pretty good, and the pool was fine, though obviously not used that much.

Great location for visiting Charlottesville and Monticello - and supermarket, petrol station and fast good places nearby.

Only thing I'd say is this hotel is right on the highway and can be noisy. Otherwise, great place!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hopesprings12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    153
    95
    41
    19
See reviews for
108
132
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was the fifth hotel on our tour of Virginia and we enjoyed our two night stay very much. We checked in at 2pm. Check-in was quick and efficient - the reception staff were very friendly. Our rooms were on the second floor. They were very clean and comfortable. The hotel provided a great base for our visits to Monticello and Shenandoah. There was also a supermarket nearby so we could easily stock up with chocolate! Breakfast was good. We chose to eat in the restaurant on one evening after a long day of driving. The food was tasty and the service good. Free parking and wi-fi were welcomed as this had not been the case in the other hotels on our tour.
The only down side was the pool which was absolutely freezing!
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiganer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Clean and updated. Bed was very comfortable. Front desk person had great maps and information about the area. Close to UVA and historic mainstreet. Only seven miles to Monticello. Breakfast was good and moderately priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jh711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very comfy beds with newly remodeled bathrooms. Room was quiet despite the hotel having near full occupancy. The price was a tad high but a nice location if you have a car to visit Monticello or downtown Charlottesville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomerUSA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAEHOLIDAY, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so happy you enjoyed you stay. We look forward to seeing you again in Charlottesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have stayed at several hotels in the area, and this is a good choice. Like most good hotels in this area, it is expensive but worth the extra cost. The rooms were typical of the Holiday Inn chain, and it is located near one of the main streets. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

was so excited for first night of vacation. was so disappointed. they said they were giving us a newly remodeled room. it was almost ok. but then the A/C decided to bang and clank from 1:30am until i fot up at 4am and kicked it and took it apart... and finally had to turn it off and open the window (summer heat), which was right over the entrance (plus you could here interstate traffic). it was one of the worst nights' sleep my family ever got. and when i brought it to the staffs attention at check out, all the guy said was "i'll notify maintenance. thanks for your stay." and turned to help someone else. worst night at a hotel ever and i didn't even got a "sorry." i expected a refund. we won't be back (and we've been going there since 2001 on the way to the beach).

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theron621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAEHOLIDAY, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I am deeply troubles to hear about your experience at our hotel and want to apologize for the inconveniences and lack of service you experienced. I would love the change to speak with you about your stay. Please send me an email at merickson@hicharlottesville.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Greenville, MS
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Needed a room in the area. This hotel was in a good location for us, at a reasonable price. It was fairly full. One night was somewhat expensive for the chain the other nights reasonable. The room was decent and clean. Not much noise from the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAEHOLIDAY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and leaving your valuable feedback, as it helps us improve the service we provide. Our location is close to interstate 64 and 2.5 miles from the downtown historic mall. The mail is a great area to shop and dine out. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Property: Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Address: 1200 Fifth Street SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing