We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant is lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Restaurant is lacking”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed one night here amd the room is just what you might expect froma Holiday Inn. It was clean and bes were comfortable. The TV had plenty of channels and the bathroom had the usual soaps, shampoo, lotions. The front desk staff was great. They helped me out with a couple of things and made the stay pleasant.
The restaurant was quite a letdown. The food was just alright (simply bacon and eggs) but it took 32 minutes to get the food served once the order was placed. I don't know what the hold up was, but other folks seem to have the same experience. I have an idea the kitchen is understaffed. If I stay there again, I will probably just go to the Waffle House down the street for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buck4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Buck4you,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent travel. We are very pleased you liked your clean and comfortable rooms, and that our front desk staff was very helpful. Your wonderful comments will be a huge motivation for us in continually providing excellent customer service. I do want to take the time to apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had at the restaurant. Please be assured that your feedback is already noted and we will certainly work on improvements for your next stay and for future guests.

Should you be back in Monticello in the future, we would love to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    162
    100
    43
    20
See reviews for
115
140
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Nothing special about this Holiday Inn. Good clean hotel. The winner here is the staff. Tana and the rest of the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially when using the business center. Saved the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was by far one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in this hotel category. The staff was curious, the rooms were updated, and the breakfast even came with some basic garnishing. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I am sitting in the dining hall for 30+ minutes to get my breakfast. The kitchen staff seems to be overworked b/c there's a wedding party in the other hall, but this doesn't justify that they screw up other guests' morning schedule. This basically beats the basic purpose of staying here - to be near Monticello to save time. I already lost more time than I saved and I see no end to my wait.

I do not have a particularly high standard for accomodations, as I have travelled across the Middle East and saw much worse places. But I decided to leave my very first review on Tripadvisor with the lowest grade b/c this is just completely unacceptable.

For record, I am staying for a night from May 24th to 25th, 2014.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woong-ki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAEHOLIDAY, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Woong-ki,
Please accept my sincere apologize for the slow breakfast service you experienced. We were hosting several weddings during your stay and despite our efforts to ensure appropriate staffing, unseen circumstances gave us a big surprise. We are reviewing the circumstance and our recovery options to ensure we do everything in our power to ensure it does not happen again.
If you’re in our area again I hope you give us another opportunity provide a better service experience.
Mae E. Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed for one night, and had an outstanding experience. Checkin was quick and cheerful. Late dinner was excellent and a very good value. Nice selections for breakfast. Pet-friendly, yet quiet. Easy checkout.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacht42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel was convenient for our tour of presidential homes in the area. The staff was very helpful with dinner recommendations in the Belmont area. The room was very quiet despite proximity to the highway. The bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janea26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was the 1st time we took are small dog with us at a pet friendly hotel. I'd the room was assigned for guests with pets, I couldn't tell. It was clean and had no pet smell. Room was a nice size and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drlnsue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
245 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
521 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
302 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
957 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Property: Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Address: 1200 5th St SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing