We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed for one night at the Holiday Inn during a trip along the Skyline Drive and Blue Ridge Parkway and were very satisfied with the experience. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and our meal in the hotel restaurant was very good.

Seems some people have had a different experience at this hotel but we were very satisfied

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank saxilby bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 415 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2008

Spend more money and stay somewhere else. Dirty bathroom, stained tub, dirty lobby, filthy elevators, and the water from the tap tasted like something from an old sulphur well. I hope the sheets were clean. Asked for the porn blocker to be put in place before I arrived, but they did not. Asked again when I arrived but it was never done. Room service was very expensive: $28.00 for a burger, fries, beer, and vanilla ice cream. Visit the Burger King two blocks away. The on-site restaurant was dirty. The waitresses were good, but breakfast was disappointing....poor oatmeal and green fruit. The second breakfast there I was scraping egg chunks off my fork and from my juice glass. Asked for a glass of water and got one with stuff floating in it. Looked like grapefruit pulp, but I just couldn't bring myself to drink it. Skipped breakfast entirely the third morning and checked out early. This hotel is shabby and rundown. That I may understand to a degree. I do not understand dirty. This hotel is in need of a demanding manager with high standards.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toto2Leavenworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My stay was an utter disappointment. My "nonsmoking room" reeked of smoke and the A/C would randomly make a howling sound that was loud enough to wake me up. This room should have been out of service for repairs but it wasn't. I think this reveals a lot about management's attitude towards its customers. It is a fair question to ask why I didn't ask for another room. The simple answer is that I checked in pre-dinner, dropped my things off and did not return until clsoe to midnight when all I had on my mind was getting some shuteye. The more important point is that this room should not have been offered to any quests. It was beyond obvious that the A/C needed major repair. One last thing: I booked my room through Priceline, so it is possible that management "selected" this room for me since I was getting a good deal on a room. I should hope that is not the case. I try to think well of people so I will stick with my assumption that I was assigned this room b/c of carelessness rather than for more devious reasons.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequent_lux_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We needed an inexpensive but comfortable and clean place to sleep at night when we moved our son into an apartment in Charlottesville. We booked our room through Hotwire at a very attractive price. The Holiday Inn is conveniently located , had very comfortable beds and pillows, and was in a quiet location. There was free wireless internet service in the rooms.

The exercise room is miniscule and has only three pieces of equipment, but if all you need is a treadmill, bike, cross-trainer and some weights, it's fine. The outdoor pool is okay, nothing special.

This is not a place where I would want to spend time on a vacation. But just to have a nice place to sleep at night, it was fine, and we would definitely stay there again if we could book through Hotwire.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Simonizzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

We spent 4 nights here for our daughter's wedding. The first 2 were normal. After the third we had no hot water. The fourth morning the water temperature fluctuated from scalding to ice cold regardless of the position of the knobs. We checked out that day, and we asked for a discount for the inconvenience. They responded with a 20% refund for the one day we had no hot water at all. We advised them that we found that unacceptable, but we received no further remedy.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Booked the room via Hotwire. Price was reasonable and the location fine, just off I 64. Actually the look of the place (its older) is fine, the parking lot and grounds are well maintained. Our room was on the top floor and was in pretty good to fair condition. A few problems like a large spider web, and bed lamps with a broken on/off switch. All problems are fairly typical for this type of place, always the luck of the draw. I'm easy and for just a place to sleep for one night - it was more than fine. Everyone we encountered was nice and friendly. Free wi-fi was a plus as was the free computer in the lobby. Nice location unless you want to be in downtown Charlottesville (which is nearby and easy to drive to) I'd stay here again, but only at a budget rate.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scarpenter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Room itself was decent and clean. Beds were very comfortable, bathroom was clean. Even with its location right off the highway, windows were sufficient in blocking out noise. However, the walls are thin and you can hear everything in the hallway and the rooms adjacent (people coughing, tv's, etc).

The front desk staff was friendly, although we did feel a little like the bottom of the barrel b/c we had booked through Hotwire (I have been to many hotels who don't seem to care where you book your stay-you are all treated the same-this is not one of them). Booked this hotel on Hotwire for $69 plus fees. Because we booked on Hotwire, hotel was not willing to give us a requested King bed.

No creamer for the in-room coffee maker in the room, so had to ask. One of the 2 elevators was out of service and the remaining one had seen better days.

This hotel was decent, not awful, not great. Served our needs well.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mdcrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#20 of 37 in Charlottesville
265 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#10 of 37 in Charlottesville
317 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#28 of 37 in Charlottesville
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 37 in Charlottesville
164 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 37 in Charlottesville
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Address: 1200 5th St SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902-6454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $89 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing