We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Middlesex, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average but a bit noisy”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We happened to get a room facing the Interstate. Listened to trucks roaring by all night. Found the difference between Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express is that breakfast cost $8.00 at Holiday Inns, but are free at Express Inns.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Carl B,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    163
    102
    44
    20
See reviews for
116
141
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, NC
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I did not realize until it was too late that this Holiday Inn does not offer a free breakfast. The price was $123+tax, and if it was with a breakfast that'd be a better deal for me. However, this is an expensive area because of Monticello, UVa and the wine country.

The room was standard and clean. No problems whatsoever. The staff were polite and prompt. Separate review of the restaurant was written on TA (name of restaurant is "Charlotte's"). A bit disappointed that the lounge closes at 10pm, but I guess they do not get enough business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolina621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was over a weekend with the U of V having a football game and the hotel prices were increased to a ridiculous rate for Fri. and Sat. nights. We requested a renovated King room but were told on checking in that the only renovated rooms had two Queen beds, which we took. The room was at the end of a fourth floor hall and very quiet. It was clean and nice enough but cramped with one bed very close to the wall and the bath, while nice, was also cramped and inconvenient. The chair in the room was one of the most uncomfortable I've ever sat it. We went to the restaurant for dinner and waited 5 to 10 minutes with no one coming to seat us so we left. There is nothing convenient nearby for eating except a couple fast food type places.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klassikatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Klassikatt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with your room accommodation and restaurant experience. Rest assured that we will take your comments under consideration so they will help us become the best hotel we can be. We hope you give us the privilege to continue to serve you in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.
Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estinnes
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We chose this hotel to visit the Monticello Jefferson estate.
The fourniture were new but the walls and the carpets need refreshment. The lifts were Noisy and seemed to be old.
The bathroom is small and not so clean as well as the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carodema_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Monticello. We are constantly working to improve ourselves, and your review helps us to do that. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance, and during your next trip to the area, you will be able to notice our constant renovations and updates.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Bilston
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed there for one night during a road trip, we found the receptionist very helpful (great local knowledge when we enquired about local restaurants) and the room clean and comfortable. Breakfast was well managed and the waitress very attentive and helpful. Enjoyed the breakfast, we would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodhouse35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Woodhouse35,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your compliments on our products and services.

We are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we have to offer. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us as we constantly strive to make your experience a great one.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A fairly average hotel with a disappointing bedroom. There was no safe in the bedroom. Whilst the food was reasonable, the wine list was very poor - only two red wines available. Tried a glass of each but both were equally poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear JohnCambridgeshire,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My expectations for this hotel were quite high. Unfortunately, they were not met. This Holiday Inn did not reflect the standards that I have come to expect from a Holiday Inn. The room was not very clean. It had a stale cigarette smell.But, the staff insisted that it had always been a non smoking room. Mosr likely, I will not return to this hotel. That is unfortunate as its location is excellent .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Lawrence G,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate our location. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room you had and the service you received. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
246 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
525 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
305 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
972 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Property: Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Address: 1200 5th St SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing