We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Monticello with updated rooms and pet friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Newport Beach
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Near Monticello with updated rooms and pet friendly”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This property is an older high rise (10 floors) Holiday Inn located near Thomas Jefferson's home, Monticello. It is also near the University of Virginia. The exterior of the property is what you would expect from an older (approximately 25 years) motel. Nothing special, but the interior is very nice and the rooms are more typical of a new, stylish, contemporary urban hotel. The bathroom was average. The room was noisy as it faced the highway and surprisingly there is a lot of traffic on I-64.

Very friendly staff. The location is very convenient for sightseeing and visiting Charlottesville. There are no restaurants or gas at this exit, however there are some a few miles away.

The rate seemed a bit pricey but I had to pay an extra $30 for two small dogs and the property was sold out. Supply and demand. Based upon other reviews it is possible that all rooms have not been updated. My room appeared to be relatively new so be sure to ask for an updated room.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room facing the opposite side of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LudwigNewportBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    164
    102
    45
    20
See reviews for
116
141
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Western Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Having read the reviews I was a little concerned about what we were going to arrive at. It was good. Staff were terrific and friendly and were always helpful. The room was good, clean and no complaints about it other than it did not have a safe. I really couldn't complain about the hotel and staff so thank you for a good couple of nights.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slippylizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My son's baseball team reserved a dozen rooms at this location. This is the second year for them, but the first year I have stayed at the property. It will be the last. I'm very surprised at the other people's reviews. I want the room and the price they got! My room was beaten up, bathtub was dirty, bathroom floor tiles cracked, and A/C didn't seem up to the job.

Additionally, we stayed on the 4th floor and we started calling it the phantom floor, because the elevator would pass right by it, and not let us off. This occurred randomly and on several of the elevators, so we couldn't find the way around the problem.

Front desk staff was nice, but that was the hook to get me in. After that, it wasn't a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a floor other than the 4th. Away from the pool if you go to bed early. One was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear redheadmom23,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know that you found the desk staff to be nice. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the room's condition. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I got this hotel on Hotwire.com and it was good for that price. Clean and room with king bed was large. Bathroom very small. Indoor hallways a plus but I have never seen such bland halls. I'm not there for the decor but the hallway looked like a hospital hall, a bit strange for a hotel. Doors bang pretty loud, otherwise quiet. No free breakfast, but good location. Less than 10 minutes to UVA, historic downtown mall and Monticello/Ash Lawn. Would stay again for same price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank neonargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wise, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've stayed in some high dollar hotels costing much more than this, and I have to say the quality of the rooms in this hotel are actually nicer, especially since the renovations. The hotel is immaculate. Me and my mom both have to come to Charlottesville for medical reasons several times a year, and this is always stay. They give us a discount too, since we are there for health reasons. I highly recommend this hotel, it's conveniently located near I-64, several restuarants, and a grocery store,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked this over Priceline and wasn't disappointed. The rooms are tres modern and chic, and the staff was nice. I paid $75 so I can't complain! It was excellent. One thing: if you park in the front parking lot and panic because you can't see your car, then you've probably parked in the part of the parking lot you can't see because there is a stupid line of trees that blocks that part of the lot from view when you exit the front lobby. I thought my car had been stolen or towed or something! But it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphra75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel was good, very clean and a great shower head with a lot of pressure.

The only bad thing was that I had such a hard time finding this hotel off of I-64 W. the bushes hide the sign and the hotel is not seen from the road on 5 TH Ave. we had to call the hotel plus ask two people on the street just to find it.

So if you are coming this way I believe it is the first street you come to when you are on 5 TH Ave. there is not a light where you turn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgzshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
249 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
529 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
307 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
986 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Property: Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Address: 1200 5th St SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing