We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I was not expecting the hotel to be this nice. The pictures on the web showed an "average" looking hotel. When I got to my room I found that the rooms had been redone with new furniture, a big flat screen tv and a refrigerator. I asked at the desk if all the rooms looked like mine and they said they had just finished the rooms, just waiting on new curtains. The hotel is an older property and looks surprisingly good. The staff was friendly, especially Brooke at the desk and Bonnie in the restaurant. Thanks, I will be back!

Room Tip: Even number rooms face away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheRoad201138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 408 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2010

I recently spent two nights here with my partner on a leisure trip to Monticello & UVA. I have stayed at several Holiday Inns within the USA & Europe, and have to say that this was the worst one. Rooms have not been updated in several years, and neither have the common areas. The decor is very dated (my guess is mid-1980s), and the bathroom & bathtub were dirty/moldy. The rooms do not have central A/C or heat. You adjust the room temperature by turning on the heater or A/C (low, medium or high), and must listen to it run all night long. Windows also didn't open to allow in fresh air.

We had to try out a couple of rooms until we decided on one due to noise (elevator, ice machine). There's a tiny exercise room with a a couple of dumbbells, 2 treadmills, and an elliptical machine. There is also a small 'cafe', with typical cafe food.

I will say that the staff was extremely nice and helpful. Its just unfortunate that they do not have a better property to manage and run.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beechmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Fridge did not work. No bath towels. Room had an appearance of not having had guest for ages and smelt stale. Did not 'feel' clean. The coffee maker felt dangerous to use. The cardboard cups - not expected in such a hotel. Although maybe out of season for the pool there was no excuse for the state it was in. Noise of fans all night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uk2sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Our daughter was married at Ashlawn and we reserved a block of rooms for our many out of town guests. The location of the hotel was perfect, not only was it close to the wedding site, but also because it was close to so many locations our guests were interested in visiting: the Michie tavern, Monticello, several wineries, and the Carter Apple Orchard.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel, although absolutely full, (I believe there were guests attending 3 other weddings) was quiet. The desk staff were knowledgeable and helpful, and the warm chocolate chip cookies went over very well with our younger guests!
The only downsides were: the pool was closed and the cleaning staff seemed overwhelmed on the Saturday of the wedding weekend and there were guests who wanted to check in early that could not. (Although that is not the hotel's problem. Check in times are posted for a reason.....)

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I recently stayed at this Holiday Inn for a business trip. The room was large and very clean. I sat at the bar to eat dinner, the bartender was friendly and the food was delicious. I will definitely be staying here on my future trips to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mangoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

No problems with the hotel...the restaurant was over priced and the food was maybe a 3 out of 10. They over cooked the steaks and the veggies tasted like vinegar.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltldxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Successful trip all around. Best hotel for the money in our book. Clean and updated, and friendly service what more could you ask. I own a small business and appreciate it when I feel my money was well spent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris47370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
262 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
543 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
275 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
149 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Address: 1200 5th St SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902-6454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $97 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing