We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting with easy access to Charlottesville”
Review of Boar's Head Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boar's Head Resort
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

All 11 of our family stayed in
the Boar's Head for 3 nights. The grounds are just beautiful with a lovely lake and 4 swimming pools.
We ate breakfast in the dining room which was excellent but a little formal for evening dining with a strict dress code. Shame really as I am sure it would have been good.
Meals in the Bistro were very good including our last meal altogether in the States.
The gift card from our family to spend in the Spa was good too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannypatYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for Boar's Head Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 938 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

I do recommend the Premium Rooms located in the Hunting Club. The view from your private porch is nice and the room we had was clean, comfortable and spacious. Note, there may not be an elevator in this building. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Of interest, the price per night went up significantly for the fall college move-in weekend - an oddity since The Boar's Head is owned and operated by the college's Foundation. For some reason, I expected the opposite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McWhorterComm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wonderful experience! We loved the accomodations and all the sports facilities!
The swimming pools were amazing and so were the tennis and squash courts.
We would definitely go back in the future if we were travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jems6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Boar's Head Inn is a lovely place to stay if you are visiting the area. Great pool and tennis facility. Breakfast was very expensive and we didn't have dinner there, but the menu looked good. Nice grounds and nice rooms. Exceptional staff. Room cleaning was a bit off, but otherwise a great time.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerdeb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

While we have been frequent guests and previously satisfied, I am very disappointed with the decision just issued on my request to cancel a reservation that was in effect less than one hour. Despite the near capacity of the faciltiy i was charged the full rate for room cancellation. Therefore if room is booked within 7 days there is no abiity to cancel. Furthermore the reservationist did not mention this policy to me when i booked the room for the same night. A big oversight. The facility has prospered on the basis of value and service. Pushing a profit margin thru punitive penalties will not generate satisfied customers. I will not stay there again. P.S. food quality did not stand up to the high priced menu.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Enjoyed a wedding rehearsal dinner at The Boar's Head. It was the perfect location. There is a beautiful lake and grounds to walk around. The cocktail hour was hosted on a porch overlooking the lake. The interior had all the trappings of a fine hunting club. We really enjoyed ourselves and would certainly stay here for a weekend on a return trip to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights preparing for my daughters wedding. This place is delightful. Grounds are gorgeous, rooms are spotless and recently redecorated and the restaurants are very good. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars? It's not quite up to The Williamsburg Inn standards, but its getting there.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank capitollobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
3.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,778 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
736 reviews
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
218 reviews
9.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boar's Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boar's Head Resort

Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $188 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boar's Head Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boar's Head Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing