We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boar's Head Resort
Nearby Hotels
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$114
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The English Inn of Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$139
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UVA Inn at Darden(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$144
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
$219
$169
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$112
$102
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveler rating
635
275
117
49
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
275
117
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold millsports clubbeautiful resorthunt clubthe main lodgetennis courtslake viewwalking trailsgrounds are lovelyour room was spaciouslong weekendfitness centercharlottesville areabistropropertysquashuva
Filter
Updating list...
1,003 - 1,008 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Four days with four generations with special events for each person: tennis & golf for the athletes, walking paths and places for exercise, breakfast with Santa, tree lighting and carriage rides for the youngest, breakfast in the room for the oldest and great dining together for all. Especially loved the generations and family traditions enjoying the Boars Head Inn. And can not say enough about all the staff - well trained, attentive and professional. All the meals in all the places were excellent. Can't wait to return and next time think I'll indulge in the spa. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed four nights to celebrate a 5th anniversary and a 30th birthday. Ate in the Old Mill Room on anniversary; champagne toast and "Happy Anniversary" dessert plate. Many of the staff wished us 'happy anniversary' throughout the stay; surprised with chocolate covered strawberries and personal note wishing us the same in our room upon return.

Received many great restaurant recommendations for the night of birthday celebration; about a 5 mile cab ride (resort close to downtown, but still secluded) to dinner. Mentioned I was looking for a gluten free birthday cake for afterward, hotel staff made it happen - delivered to my room less than 24 hours after my request. Good quality, too!

Sent wife to the spa on her birthday. She was glowing with satisfaction. Husbands: This is your ticket!

Overall, we used many of the onsite amenities: spa, restaurants, room service, bakery, walking paths, Sunday brunch, etc. All were extremely satisfactory and staff went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable. When we went in to town, staff helped us find our way.

FYI: There is morning housekeeping and a turn-down service at night (chocolates included)!

Room Tip: lake view; building closest to the spa; top floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I really wanted to love this place... but there were a few things that made me NOT love it. The first was the lack of parking and high traffic area in front of the inn. It's hard to imagine it, but there is an actual BUS stop right in front of the lobby. I think that alone, should dock them a star rating. In any case, the exterior is just average and a bit dated. The rooms themselves (we had a room in the main inn) are very nice and have obviously been updated somewhat recently.

And then there's the history... for the hype that is made about the historical significance of the Boar's Head, the inn's history itself is rather insignificant, especially considering that it is located in one of the most historical cities in Virginia. Basically, the inn was built using some reclaimed wood from an old mill that wasn't actually ever located on the site. The only real historical significance is relatively recent... that the property was purchased by the University of Virginia Foundation in the 1980s, which accounts for all the UVA-themed art and decor.

Overall, my biggest complaint is that the inn is really more of a UVA event-venue than a functioning hotel for visitors to Charlottesville. The weekend was a revolving door of weddings, UVA dinners and events. We spent our time ducking out of wedding photos and avoiding areas of the inn that were reserved for special guests. If we'd had a connection to the university, it might have meant more, but we don't. We just have a connection to Charlottesville, we were married at The Clifton Inn and have spent many memorable weekends in the area, exploring vineyards, etc. The Boar's Head isn't ideal for non-UVA affliated travelers and those looking for a quiet romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Boars Head Inn was a great getaway. It is not a grandious property but is more of a country inn. The staff was great, our room was really nice with a patio overlooking the pond. I couldn't have been more pleased with our time there. And the bartender in the 1834 tavern was lots of fun and made it feel like a neighborhood bar.

Room Tip: the king delux is a great room for the price.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri43336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Recently there for a conference. If I had personally paid for the room I would be livid about the accommodations. Rooms are supposedly newly renovated but ours had a huge stain on the carpet and there was a very unpleasant odor in the room that did not disappear with time. Shower water was barely warm - no hot showers. Just ridiculous. Food in hotel restaurant is very average for breakfast. Not very hot - not very fresh - not very tasty. However, restaurant service at breakfast was exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews