We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Boar's Head Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boar's Head Resort
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I have been going to the Boars Head for many years. It is a wonderful place to stay. The service is great and the amenities and spa are first rate. The staff is very helpful. I highly recommend this for a laid back and uncomplicated stay in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack44_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    245
    97
    34
    15
See reviews for
220
378
23
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Boar's Head is a lovely property close enough to pretty much everything in the Charlottesville area one would want to see but far enough out that it feels like a little country getaway. The positives: Grounds are pretty, fitness facilities above average, staff is friendly and helpful, favorable parking situation throughout property & beds are particularly comfy. The negatives: Room was at the back of the property by the tennis courts in a building with one elevator very far from my third-floor room (kinda annoying). Obviously this room location meant a walk to everything in the main building - no big deal if you don't mind being devoured by mosquitoes en route. Eleven bites on my legs upon returning from my first - and only - walk over. This distance from the main building probably also helps explain why room service isn't a great option (quite cold upon arrival). Also note the shower's water pressure is just so-so and the water doesn't get "that" hot. And, finally, there were stains on some of the towels and sheets. All in all - not exactly what I expected at first glance and definitely not what I expected for $250+ a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Pretty average to be honest. Main building is nice - all olde worlde charm and oak beams, but the chances are you'll be staying in one of the other blocks. Ednam Hall, for example, is as other contributors have noted, like a glorified college dorm. We had a suite which was sparse and kind of unwelcoming. Comfortable bed but the world's loudest air conditioning means you are in for a restless night. Breakfast buffet was kind of standard fare. Still looking for The Place To Stay in Charlottesville....

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main building if at all possible....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinusThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

PROS
- location reasonably close to various attractions
- beautiful setting (lakes, trees)
- attractive buildings
- state of the art tennis facility
- cozy, pretty, spacious enough, clean, updated room (king in Main Inn)
- most staff is friendly and professional
- 2 pools, fitness center

CONS
- Not impressed by the restaurant, but we had only breakfast there so dinner may be better.
- Our room was in a quiet corner with lovely view, which was great, but the hallway had a horrible "old" odor.
- The "adults only" pool needs an obvious sign to remind guests with kids.
- Fair price, if you can take advantage of the grounds and fitness facility, otherwise maybe not as great of a value.
- Tiny detail, but someone should try to keep the main doors (glass) clean.

We were there for a special occasion. We were welcomed with a greeting card and a special little chocolate platter in our room, a small but nice gesture.

Overall, a comfortable, lovely, smart choice for a Cville stay!

Room Tip: Not familiar with rooms in buildings other than Main Inn, but it seems you can't go wrong reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miaolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lovely location for a long weekend getaway. The staff were very friendly and the service was impeccable. We tried to take the hot air balloon ride, but unfortunately it was cancelled due to the weather. On the plus side, the balloon operator was very conscientious about calling to let us know (thus we didn't get up at 05:30 for nothing). Lots of other activities on the property, including swimming and tennis. The property itself is beautiful. Also, don't miss sampling one (or two!) of Michael's martini's in the bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonita springs, fl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stay at the Boar' Head Inn. The rooms are updated and quite nice. Have the buffet breakfast...$16.95, very good fresh fruit, eggs okay, the rest is standard buffet fare--croissants, bacon, sausage, grits, etc. Do not bother eating in their Old Mill Inn dining room. Service was excellent, but the food was average, at a high price point. You can do a lot better in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathleen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently visited The Boar's Head for the first time. We always knew it was there, but had just never taken the time to visit. We were looking for a quiet, couples getaway close to home, and that is exactly what we found, and so much more. The serene setting is gorgeous with beautifully manicured, well kept grounds, and easy access from I-64. We had a premier king room with a balcony overlooking the lake. The room was newly updated and decorated in restfull shades of soft green, beige, and cream, and spotlessly clean. It was supplied with everything we needed, and everything worked!
A dip in the quiet, adults only pool, a relaxing massage, afternoon tea, reading and naps quickly filled the few days we spent there. A golf course, family and children's pools,and extensive sports complex is available for the more ambitious.
Breakfast was included in the rate plan we selected, and we appreciated that we could choose from the a la carte menu, and/or the buffet. Dinner was delicious in both the Old Mill Room, as well as the more casual Bistro. Service was outstanding everywhere! Without exception, every employee we encountered was friendly, and eager to please.
The day we departed we had tickets for an afternoon UVA football game. As alums, we knew parking could be a problem on game day and were delighted to find the Inn was offering, for a small charge, a round trip shuttle to and from the stadium. They gave us a late check out time to coincide with the shuttle departure and we left our car in their parking lot. We returned to the Inn after the game, had a leisurely light meal in the Bistro, and reluctantly headed home.

Room Tip: There are multiple buildings, not all are connected to the main inn where the restaurants are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggiesMom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
3.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,743 reviews
2.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
718 reviews
9.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
464 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boar's Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boar's Head Resort

Property: Boar's Head Resort
Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boar's Head Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Boar's Head Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing