We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
200 South Street Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graduate Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oakhurst Inn(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Excel Inn & Suites(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveler rating
373
243
62
32
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
373
243
62
32
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseyogurttrain tracksdowntown mallwrap around porchcookiesb btwo blocksgreat locationthe main housesqueezed orange juicefarmers marketcontinental breakfastoff street parkingfresh baked breadcoffee cakewithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
636 - 641 of 723 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Love the location, the delightful breakfast and wine-and-cheese, the picturesque porch, the old creaky floorboards, and great architecture. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Charlottesville. The sink drain was a little stopped up, but that's what you would expect with an old house. It's quaint. If you come with that expectation, and you are looking for character and charm, then this is the perfect place for you. The downtown location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

It was a wonderful stay with a friendly, helpful staff. Everything was wonderfully clean and nicely decorated. We loved the wrap-around porch and backyard. The breakfast and wine and cheese hour was always a beautiful layout. Our one complaint was the humitity in room 15, where we stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewjamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

I found South Street online from the Travel section of the New York Times and what a find! Their web site offered good snaps of the rooms but they were actually bigger than they appeared in the pictures (a great plus). Comparing them to other options in and around Charlottesville, they were a little more pricey but the location and service made up for it. Our room was spacious, clean and nicely appointed. The continental breakfast was deliciousand fresh and the afternoon wine & cheese was delightful. We are history buffs so we were able to see the 3 President's homes during our 3 day stay and one winery. From the Inn, we could walk two blocks to Charlottesville Mall (a misnomer to me) and find an assortment of eateries with outdoor cafe-style seating on the tree-lined, pedestrian-only downtown "mall". The free trolley was another plus for seeing the campus and getting to other sections of the town.

We would love to return and check out more wineries and more of the towns' restaurants. We will definitely stay at South Street again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We have stayed at the South Street Inn twice. Both times we were visiting out daughter at UVA. It is a lovely Inn in a great location. Just walk to great restaurants and shopping (although with the economy many stores are closing) AND if you come at the right time of year, the Farmer's Market takes place on Saturday mornings right across the street...a real treat! Incredible breakfasts that you can eat while sitting on the beautiful wrap around porch. Same with the wine and cheese served between 5-7 every day. All the staff is very accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netway5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We had a lovely stay and would come again. The staff was wonderful and helpful. Our room was great but would have liked a little more lighting however the weather was gray outside during most of our stay unfortunately. Very accessible to the downtown mall area with many places to go within walking distance. Would come again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SewBizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews