We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great location for accessing many good restaurants"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
200 South Street Inn
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Two pretty houses as one BandB, nice to have wine in afternoon, GREAT cookies! Never met owners or other guests, very nice greeter who helped with restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stollgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 718 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed for two nights while in town for the Charlottesville Marathon (17-19 April). The house is only a few blocks away from the main part of town with all the restaurants and shopping. As soon as we walked in we were immediately welcomed by the friendly staff. Our room, number 8, was nicely decorated and very clean. The only problem we had was opening the drawers on the antique furniture. I read a lot about the beds prior to this trip but the bed in our room was great! As for the train problems I read about, they weren't too bad at all. There was a low rumble a few times during the night but nothing worthy of the negative comments in other posts. We did take advantage of the 5pm wine/cheese tasting and loved it! We also enjoyed having coffee and pastries out on the deck each morning. Very relaxing. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike64Arlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Great location a block from Downtown area. Off street parking. Charming old Inn with wrap around porches, comfy sitting rooms, but creaky hardwood floors, but that gives the place character. Afternoon wine and cheese, and tasty breakfast spread were nice. Staff was friendly and graciously accommodated a cancellation within their stated terms. No hassles or hidden requirements.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKskater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

The location is great and the B&B atmosphere is lovely. Wine and cheese at 5 pm is always nice! However, the rooms are pretty expensive and very close to both college student neighbors and the train tracks, so staying there on a Friday night we got virtually no sleep. It's also a bit of a crapshoot with the service - the managers are lovely and very accommodating. But sometimes you will find the front desk being minded by a teenager who hasn't had a whole lot of experience in the service industry. For what you pay for, the value isn't amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aressjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the South Street Inn, located near Montecello. The room was comfortable and spacious and included a working gas fireplace and a small divan; however, when we first arrived we were shown to the english basement of the cottage next door, where there are three much smaller rooms. For $180 a night, this was unacceptable to me and I told the innkeeper, who gave us a much nicer room in the main house (which she said was more $ but available so she let us have it for the same price). If you stay here, make sure you know what room you're getting first. The breakfast in the morning and the wine and cheese in the evening were simple but very good quality.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suede123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

The room was amazing, and the owners and staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. You can't beat the central location for access to the mall, farmers market, and the city's best restaurant. I'll be returning to the South Street Inn again and again

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPA2W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We were charmed during a recent stay at the 200 South Street Inn. The owners are interesting conversationalists who were attentive to their guests as were the several staff members we encountered during our stay. Hospitality aside, our room was mostly comfortable with a nice arm chair, fire place, and nearby common area where we could spread out if need be. We appreciated the wine and cheese each evening, great coffee, and especially the wi-fi. For the regular price of our room I might expect slightly higher quality toiletries, a cleaner bathroom (tile needs to be re-grouted) and to find that the binder with information about the inn and its environs not to be falling apart, but we happened to stay with a great price special and were thoroughly satisfied for the price. The overall impression is of charming, if faded, elegance in an impeccable location. Details such as making sure your beds are comfortable, pillows soft, toiletries luxurious, and information about the inn presented in an up-to-date manner are small details that would make the experience with the inn five instead of four star. We will definitely be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,856 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
355 reviews
1.9 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 South Street Inn

Address: 200 W South St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $156 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 200 South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 South Street Inn, centrally located near Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, offers southern elegance in Charlottesville's lively historic downtown district two blocks from the Downtown Mall. With sixty restaurants in the immediate vicinity you can't get better convenience. As a Bed and Breakfast, the Inn combines a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere with all the conveniences of an elegant hotel. A stay with us includes homemade cookies upon arrival, wine and artisan cheeses served in the evenings as well as a full breakfast served each morning with fresh baked goods and fresh juices. Rooms feature antique furnishings, fireplaces, private baths, some with whirlpool tubs, and a view of Downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your 200 South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
200 South Street Hotel Charlottesville
200 South Street Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing