We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
200 South Street Inn
Nearby Hotels
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$114
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
$219
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The English Inn of Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$130
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UVA Inn at Darden(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$144
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$153
$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$112
$102
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boar's Head Resort(Charlottesville)
$165
$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveler rating
375
244
62
32
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
375
244
62
32
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseyogurttrain tracksdowntown mallwrap around porchcookiestwo blocksgreat locationthe main housesqueezed orange juicefarmers marketcontinental breakfastoff street parkingfresh baked breadcoffee cakewithin walking distancelight sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 726 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn as we love restored, historic homes. We are locals who just wanted a quick, local getaway after many days with a full house during the holidays. The wine and cheese hour and always available freshly baked cookies were a nice touch. We stayed as a part of their winter special rate, so it was definitely a great value for our stay.

Pros: Historic home, fireplace, location of walking distance to the Downtown Mall, friendly evening staff who greeted us with freshly baked, warm cookies :)

Cons: Breakfast (we knew it was continental so it is exactly as described on the website) but we thought it was very heavy - a great deal of cold, sugary breads and some fruit but what we had was not very fresh (apples/bananas; cantaloupe was good!). Morning Staff - we were disappointed as the morning staff talked loudly and negatively about some other staff member throughout our breakfast as we ate upstairs in the breakfast room directly across from the kitchen.

Room Tip: The Inn is beside of train tracks, but their website is great in letting you know which rooms will hear the most noise, so follow that. We loved our room with the fire place!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcjwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We took our second trip to 200 South Street this month, and loved it as much as our first two years ago. The fireplaces in the rooms are so cozy during the winter months, and the ever-ready supply of homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookies made it even more comforting. We love the Inn's convenience to the wonderful shops and restaurants of downtown Charlottesville. There was also a neat farmers market in the parking lot across the street on the Saturday morning. The wine and cheese reception hosted by the Inn each evening is a very nice touch, and we ended up engaged in interesting conversations with other guests in the library during both of our stays. Breakfast was wonderful, the rooms were both nice (#5 in the main house, and an upstairs room in the cottage), and with each room being street facing they were well buffered from the sound of passing trains.

We will return to the Inn, and highly recommend that you become their welcome guest as well!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelingGnome647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here just one night (wish it had been longer) and thoroughly enjoyed the great breakfast, huge rooms, location to downtown Charlottesville, and unique history of the Inn. The owners provide some of the best coffee I've ever had. Really quaint, comfy and clean place to stay, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having had such a great visit in 2012, we returned to this welcoming B & B. Yes, just like Grandma's old house, the floors creak, the heater vibrates, the windows rattle when the train rolls by (okay, Grandma didn't live near the train tracks, but you get my drift!). Even better, the aroma of cookies and breads baking, the hot coffee, fresh-squeezed juice, fruits, yogurt provide a better breakfast buffet than I'd get at Grandma's. So there are no eggs, so what! Sit back, read one of the several newspapers on the counter, surrounded by a large collection of books on the shelves & enjoy the cozy setting, perhaps even meeting some other fascinating guests who are staying at this gem. We loved the fireplace in our comfortable king-bedded Room 2, on the ground floor of the main house. Instead of watching the big plasma-screen TV in the room, we enjoyed excellent wine & assorted cheese in the dining nook before heading out for a local restaurant. You can be sure, we'll be back here the next time life brings us to Charlottesville.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs or ask about which room would best serve you.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneCutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

It really can't get much better when you walk into your large room with a fire already going in the fireplace! Breakfast is not eggs and bacon but there are plenty of great choices and there are always cookies available. I'd give it a 5 except that as nice as the staff and facilities are, there's that railroad track in the back and when the freight trains go by you not only hear it but feel it.

Room Tip: Choose a front-facing room. You'll probably still hear the train, but it is in the back.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews