We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay as a couple or with your kid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
200 South Street Inn
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My daughter and I were guests at the Inn last week on a swing through Virginia while touring historical sights. It is in a great location and very convenient to the downtown area as well as the UVA campus, Jefferson's Monticello and Madison's Montpelier. Our room was lovely, and well appointed, our bed very comfortable. Our room was very private and we did not hear much noise from our fellow guests. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful. They had wonderful information to share about the area, and were honest in their recommendations about local restaurants and tours. We had a delicious breakfast with many home baked items, fresh squeezed juice, and most importantly, great coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooandYoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 717 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here on a Tuesday night in the month of July. Reservations were easy to make, and our welcome was cordial and friendly. They upgraded us to a larger room even though we had not requested it, which was very gracious. Our room was lovely- comfortable bed, spacious bath, outlets easily found, technology clear and well-explained. Out host asked if we needed dinner recommendations (we didn't, as we had lived near C'ville for a few years), and reminded us of the home made cookies available any time we wished. Breakfast was set out early, which was great, and it was very enjoyable. Lots of good, fresh fruit, toast, bagels, juice. We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend 200 South Street to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a find! We were disappointed that we only booked one night at this very special inn.
Our room was outstanding. The photos on their website are very accurate. The hospitality was warm and welcoming. Walking distance to many great restaurants. And the homemade breads and granola were a treat. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: There were comments from others about the noise of the trains. I am a very sensitive sleeper and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJES75225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a delightful and restful one night stay! After driving 11 hours, we arrived to a wonderful room and a refreshing complimentary buffet of wine, cheese and fruit. The staff went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable --- with help on directions, sending a fax for us and keeping a fresh supply of baked cookies and fruit within an arms' reach 24/7!

We picked the South Street Inn because it was ranked number #2 on Tripadvisors list for Charlottesville. The stats don't lie...thank you Tripadvisor!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haveseenall50states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were in Charlottesville for our daughter's graduation from UVA and we stayed at 200 South Street Inn for 3 nights in May. Our room was very nice - big king sized bed, very clean, nice bathroom, Air conditioning worked well. Breakfast and wine and cheese were both good too.
I have lived near trains my entire life, and I usually like the sound of them at night, but they should warn you that the train is very close and it will rattle the windows (at least in our room the blinds rattled and it was loud enough to wake us up). The next night we used some extra pillows to keep the blinds from touching the windows, and it was fine - a permanent solution (maybe blackout curtains instead of blinds) would be nice. That might not be a problem in all of the rooms. We were on the first floor. Overall, we had a great stay, and I would recommend it. It is convenient to the trolley and buses and both downtown and the UVA area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night (Thursday); check-in was efficient and our Room was spacious and clean; as per previous reviews, we had a Room at the rear of the property (No 7) and although the Train passed close by on several occasions, it didn't bother us a great deal. There is a nice touch of Wine & Cheese from 5 to 7pm and a great opportunity to get to know your fellow travellers. The location of this B&B is perfect - you are only a few Blocks away from the "hub-bub" of downtown Charlottesville with a great choice of Restaurants & Bars. This B & B deserves it's Stars!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We went to 200 South Street Inn in June for an overnight on a Saturday. We had a wonderful stay.....very quiet, convenient to restaurants and shops in the Downtown Mall area. We stayed in the basement room and it was very clean and cool. We will definitely go back sometime again!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,840 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
275 reviews
1.9 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
354 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
775 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 South Street Inn

Address: 200 W South St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $156 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 200 South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 South Street Inn, centrally located near Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, offers southern elegance in Charlottesville's lively historic downtown district two blocks from the Downtown Mall. With sixty restaurants in the immediate vicinity you can't get better convenience. As a Bed and Breakfast, the Inn combines a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere with all the conveniences of an elegant hotel. A stay with us includes homemade cookies upon arrival, wine and artisan cheeses served in the evenings as well as a full breakfast served each morning with fresh baked goods and fresh juices. Rooms feature antique furnishings, fireplaces, private baths, some with whirlpool tubs, and a view of Downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 200 South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
200 South Street Hotel Charlottesville
200 South Street Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing