We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding- don't miss it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Restaurant

Blue Heron Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding- don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

A little out of the way but well worth the trip. View on the river was very peaceful after a full day. Seafood salad was outstanding with grilled shrimp (6) and 6 large scallops and crab meat not to be missed. And at a very reasonable price, my husband's tuna very tasty and great ,price. I would highly recommend this resturant - not far from Williamsburg and well worth the drive!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zorrarojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    49
    21
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good food - great view - will come back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service was just OK - when served attentiveness was lacking from the waitress but the value was reasonable the place clean and tidy - very nice view of the river. No major complaints - good for a casual evening out after a nice ride through the country but not for a special occasion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaRedHatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable Casual Waterfront Dining - a Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Down a few long winding roads and farm fields you'll find one of our area's best kept secrets in delicious, reasonably priced dining. Being waterfront is an extra bonus. Full menu choices offers something for everyone but their seafood is excellent. Friendly, accommodating staff. Usually come by car but looking forward to coming in by boat to this wonderful restaurant. How cool is that??!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best I've ever been to... Will not be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

My hostess was not friendly at all. She seemed to be having boyfriend trouble as we find out later from he being on the phone. We just felt rushed and the food wasn't that good. Wasn't what we were expecting at all. I don't see us being back unless being payed to go.!!!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddisonGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The views where great. Very beautiful spot. The food was average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We had the seafood bisque, which was very good. The steamed crabs legs & steamed shrimp didn't have much flavor. I would say it was a fair experience, but I probably wouldn't go back.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CMT23831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Restaurant also viewed

 
Providence Forge, VA
 

Been to Blue Heron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing