We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View”

Westover Plantation
Attraction details
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Only the grounds are open, but well worth the visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Not really worth the time”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Although we knew the home was not open for tours, we went to see the gardens. That was a disappointment. Shrubs were overgrown and needed trimming. Its only $2 for the tour, but it wasn’t worth the time to drive out there.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank hammonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORTH THE VISIT”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The only practical time to tour Westover is Historic Garde Weekend when the hous is open. Admittedly, the hall and first floor rooms are open. Walking the garden and the view of the James River with the view far to the
west seeing the industrial complex near Hopewell is phenominal in contrast.
The drive from highway 5 is on a one lane dirt road which makes this all the more intriguing since one sees the farming operation. I am pleased this is not a typical plantation, at least not one with a huge cat on the visitor center counter and does not have the taxing hetic nature of Bush Gardens or a theme park. Westover is what it is, pure and simple and for one year the visit is a phenominal experience. My ancestory is from nearby Curles Neck (the Curle surname in mid 1600's) and John T Curl of the Tyree family at Lanexa, for me this is a special experience. The graveyard is equally intriguing for its age. I was pleased at this visit that the ghost aspect in house tour was not played up as last year when male tour guide went into a Shakespearean role about Evelyn haunting the gournds, ugh! Reality, charm, and history are rewarding enough, without recreating folktales. Westover is my favored location as photographer and poet.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank poetryverse37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting on the James River”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This historical plantation was built in 1730 by William Evelyn Byrd II who was also the founder of the city of Richmond. The location is beautiful and the brick mansion at Westover is considered to be one of the most outstanding examples of Georgian architecture in the country.

There are poplar trees over 150 years old and a formal garden that is lovely! We visited towards the end of October when there wasn't anything but a few blooms scattered, but there was a wonderful feeling about wandering through the paths and ancient boxwoods. What an amazing place it would be in Spring and Summer!

The main house is not opened but by appointment for groups or twice a year events, but the outbuildings are all accessible and interesting.

For detailed information in a photo journal, visit our photo album for this attraction here:
http://donnawatkins.smugmug.com/Travel/Virginia/Westover-Plantation-Charles

Helpful?
4 Thank TheNatureInUsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keysville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“house not open !”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I found this not to be much fun. Not being able to tour the house was a bummer. You feel like your in someones home and you don't belong there. The gardens would of been much nicer if they explained why they were the way they wereetc... Need more iinfo if having a self tour. I was disappointed in the whole thing. Had to come home and look up info on the place after my visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank 14horses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westover Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Westover Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing