We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the sake of completness”

Sherwood Forest Plantation
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
824 reviews
493 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“For the sake of completness”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As a regular visitor to the United States, we enjoy all and anything to do with the Presidents. So as this was once John Tyler's home, it was a must.
Well we tried ringing to try and make an appointment to view the house, but discovered from locals later that they rarely answer the phone (?) So we just turned up, paid the fee (an honesty box on the gate) and did a self guided tour of the grounds. Interesting, depending upon your desire to 'tick all the Presidential boxes'

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    16
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A gem of a place...be sure to visit”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We came across this plantation while traveling to visit another specific plantation. This is the home of President Tyler, and his grandson, in his 80s, still lives here. I understand he will chat with you if you see him and ask questions. Donations are accepted to tour the grounds, and home tours are by appointment. The brochure you get for the self guided tour is very informative. On you way to visit more popular plantations, be sure to spend at least an hour touring this one!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rostman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Shouldn't Miss if you are into Presidential History”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family and I determined a couple years ago we would visit at least one presidential site for each U.S. President. For Tyler, the Sherwood Forest Plantation is it. At first, I choked a little on the tour cost, $35 per person. But, it was worth the tour. We went through the home and then the grounds. There are amazing pieces of history throughout the house - even the trees and shrubs have a history. Some of this history dates back to almost 400 years ago. There is history concerning the first settlers, his Presidency, and the Civil War. I know that Tyler was not a well known, and, was not a loved President. However, his story was one that I won't forget. Call in advance to schedule the tour - I called at least 2 months ahead, and then worked out to the hour of the visit a week or so in advance. Tim is the fellow's name that I worked out the tour with, and, he did a great job going through history, folklore and family tales! My kids, ages 10-17 liked the tour as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
310 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Amazing Trees”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We pulled up to the entrance of this planation and found that the entrance fee included only a self-guided tour of the grounds. To get inside you must make reservations and the fee for that is $35. That was news to us...somehow we missed that information on the webside.

We went ahead and paid our $10 (no discounts for seniors) and toured the grounds. Lots of information is included on the brochure and we did enjoy the grounds, particularly the old old trees planted by President Tyler.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Home of President John Tyler”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoy visiting plantations so we stopped at this one on the way to Lynchburg, VA. This is a self guided tour. You park and place your $10.00per person in a box and take a paper which tells you about the stops you will visit while walking the plantation. While we enjoyed the tour it was only for the outside of the home. To tour the home it costs $35.00 per person and there was a phone number there to call to schedule your inside tour. We did not visit all the stops as it had recently rained and the ground was soggy. Some of the places you could visit were in marshy places and you were told to stay on the trail. Since it was so wet we decided not to venture near the marsh.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood Forest Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Sherwood Forest Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing