We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Compares to Edgewood Plantation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgewood Plantation
Ranked #2 of 6 Charles City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kenbridge, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Compares to Edgewood Plantation”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you love antiques and old houses, this is the place for you. We have been there 6 times and can't wait to go again. I love looking at the antiques and birdwatching on the beautiful grounds. Dot, Julian and Candace make you feel at home. The historical significance of the place warrants a visit by itself. I looked at about 20 other B&B's trying to branch out but nothing compares to Edgewood.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent! We have stayed in them all except for the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvnature98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    16
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
59
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I absolutely loved this place! It was gorgeously set up and the service was perfect! I had so much fun and each room gives you the feeling your in a better homes catalogue,I personally loved the decor.this place is perfect for a girls get away!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SerenaG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We are going back! Great house, great people, and great food...their breakfast was awesome. Dot has the house decorated perfectly, it's a cross between a museum and a home. There's so much to see that you could spend all day inside investigating. And the stories! Dot is a priemer storyteller that will captivate you with stories ranging from the civil war era to how she came to purchase the property...and her husband Julian is as nice as the day is long. Every room has a bathroom and one has a beautiful clawfoot tub. It's the perfect location to get away from it all, visit some plantation homes, or just get a little outside of Williamsburg. Like I said we're going back...maybe around Christmas, Dot says she'll have 14 trees....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDriderVABeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Mr. & Mrs. Boulware have put an exceptional part of their lives into this Bed & Breakfast, and it shows. My wife and I were treated like long lost relatives. The furnishings are amazing and the house is grand! Regrettably, we didn't get to see "Lizzie" the ghost, however, we will come back in the future. A true VIRGINIA treasure.

Room Tip: They're all the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwessel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

They are stating if you stay in certain rooms (Sarahs room) that you book one night at said rate, and receive second night at 50% off. This is not so. My best friend stayed in one of the rooms stated and her bill was the exact same as mine. When questioned, she was given an "explanation" that made no sense at all. Upon saying that, it was disappointing to leave us with a bitter taste to what was an otherwise lovely two nights.

The breakfasts were lovely and Candy is an amazing cook. Dot and Julian are wonderful hosts with a lot of stories to share. We were greeted with wine and smiles all around. Most definitely "ghostly" with several strange experiences to take back with us.

The pool was wonderful and quiet, the guests amazing to talk with but not pushy to do so, the interior was clean and the beds comfortable. Definitely agree with the "clutter" reviews! Every inch is covered and then some of all the space in the home, but it does add to the charm in some odd way. Dot has lovely "gathered" throughout the years each piece laid out for you to examine.

The Charles City Tavern is AMAZING. We ended up there twice for dinner. Thank you to JUlian for reserving a table for us!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Dot & Jillian and daughter-in-law are very generous and friendly hosts, they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The B&B is filled with history! and is a unique location from which to visit collonial Williamsburg, Jamestown a/o the wonderfull James River plantations. The breakfast at the "grand table" was delightful, delicious and plentyfull :) To summarize: if you like to stay at a unique B&B, this is the place to be! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duikjeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Able hosts. Inventive and plentiful breakfasts. In a pretty place. Down sides: along way to the nearest dinner place; rooms can be over crowded with pillows, paintings, bric brac.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HPBsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles City
8.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hopewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hopewell Inn
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg / Hopewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewood Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewood Plantation

Property: Edgewood Plantation
Address: 4800 John Tyler Memorial Hwy, Charles City, VA 23030-3300
Location: United States > Virginia > Charles City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewood Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the oldest Highway in the U.S., Edgewood's third floor was used during the Civil War as a lookout post for Confederate generals when they were camped at nearby Berkeley Plantation. The estate also includes the 1725 Benjamin Harris Grist Mill, which ground corn for both the Union and Confederate armies. On June 15, 1862, Confederate General J.E.B. Stuart stopped at Edgewood for coffee on his way to Richmond to warn General Robert E. Lee of the Union Army's strength.Transformed into a beautiful, functioning bed and breakfast, you will enjoy wine and cheese upon arrival. Guided tours, weddings, fireplaces in your room, teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Edgewood Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing