We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visited during Homeschool Days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shirley Plantation

Shirley Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.00*
and up
Electric Bike Tour to Shirley Plantation and Wine Tasting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Shirley Plantation is Virginia's first plantation, founded in 1613 as a land grant from King James of England. Shirley is North America's oldest family owned business and home to eleven generations of the Hill-Carter family. Admission fee. Please check our web site for details on our daily hours as they vary seasonally.
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visited during Homeschool Days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visited Shirley Plantation when they were hosting their Homeschool Days and we had a great time. The had many hands-on activities for the kids, and my husband loved the tour of the main house. We spent the day here, and enjoyed ourselves greatly! I have a full review on my blog of all the activities they had during homeschool days. (It looks like they have the same activities for school groups). If you are interested in my full review, check it out on my blog: http://ephesians521.blogspot.com/2013/02/day-5-shirley-plantation.html

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JustLaura530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    89
    18
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
214 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Colonial Plantation Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my first opportunity to visit an orginal colonial (or northern) plantation and all of the outbuildings were also in orginal condition...the tour guide knew everthing about the plantation and people still live in the house today so the tradition continues...so it is well worth visiting this colonial plantation even in the winter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Shirley is one of the best preserved James River plantations. The grounds are impeccable. The main house (1st floor only) is a treat, with wonderful furnishings and well-preserved woodwork, floors, original paintings and windows. The dependencies are replete with interpretive displays that help you get a sense of plantation life. The staff could not be more friendly. If you love history and would like a glimpse into another world, stop at Shirley.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jimgaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Step back in history at Shirley Plantation....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

While staying in Williamsburg for a long holiday weekend, we took a drive over to Shirley Plantation for a tour. We arrived early for the opening tour at 1 p.m., but there was much to see on the grounds of the plantation, from the ice house to the dovecote. The grounds were open for self-touring at that point. Each building was posted with lots of explanatory information from the workings of the buildings to the time line of Carters who have lived at Shirley. Tickets were purchased in the nice gift shop on the front lawn.
Our inside tour was a trip through time. Each room, with portraits and pictures of the Carters, represented a different time in history. Our docent was so knowledgable and enthusiastic that the time flew by. (Thanks, Carolyn). We learned about the economy, history, culture, politics, and family life of Virginia through stories that made the plantation come alive.
Don't miss the river views from the back lawn. There are camera worthy trees that look like the elves could live inside. The Carters, (who live upstairs today) are lucky to have such a lovely home, and kind to share it with the outside world.
Lunch at the Courthouse Grill in Charles City on the way back to Williamsburg.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Living History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had the privilege of visiting when attending the International Butterfly Breeder's Association annual convention that was held in Williamsberg in November 2012. This was on recommendation of the wonderful folks at Berkeley Plantation. Very different focus as Berkeley focuses on history yet Shirley is more about the families and people. Wonderful. I wish I lived near by a this is worth far more than any single visit. When visiting either plantation you can actually feel the 'echoes' of the people who walked these floors and grounds. This is far different from a disassociated museum experience or a reconstruction. There is someting profound in being where such globally significant events have occurred. This is a MUST EXPERIENCE, not just a must see. Friendly, KEEN, informative folks. You (like us) might just be honored to bump into one of the family who have so wisely preserved this place and who have also been so kind and generous as to invite us into their lives and the lives of their ancestors. Thank you to the Carter family past and especially the present. It was a privilage to visit our home.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shirley Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Shirley Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing