We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Charles City Tavern - CLOSED

Charles City Tavern
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had to turn around as we almost missed seeing the sign. Great country atmosphere with a superb menu at reasonable prices. Worth the time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Terrific Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had reservations for a group of 8 and arrived to find our table ready. Entrees ordered included salads, quiche, oysters, and crabcakes, and everyone was very pleased. Service was very efficient and food arrived quickly. We ordered several desserts which were passed around and savored by all. Be sure to order one, even if you have to take it home for later consumption!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidlothianTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,NJ
Level Contributor
175 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Glad We Found It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Came here on the recommendation of not one but two tour guides. You guys get kickbacks? Anyway I drove past it twice without even seeing it before looking it up on the GPS. The sign was leaning against the fence not really visible going by at 55mph.

We stopped in on Sunday and ordered from the brunch menu. The staff were all very friendly, as were the cats. We sat out on the screened-in porch as it was a nice cool afternoon.

My wife had the shrimp and grits and I had the crab cake Benedict. For dessert we shared champagne poppyseed cake. Oh My, everything was so good.


We will be back when in the area

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Plantation lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

A lady at Shirley plantation recommend this restaurant. Great food and in a lovely old home. Great way to top off our plantation tours in Charles City.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mommovesfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb meal, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We enjoyed Father's Day Brunch at Charles City Tavern today and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were surprised by a fixed menu but there were enough options that we weren't disappointed in the selections. They were a little overwhelmed because of the number of diners but very minor issues were quickly and professionally overcome. Located along scenic and historic Rt 5 that runs along the James River between Richmond and Williamsburg, this restaurant is worth a stop. From the salads to dessert everything was perfect. My wife enjoyed the quiche and I had the Virginia Jambalaya and both were made with high quality ingredients. Very tasty meal. This might not have been one of the best meals I've had in a restaurant but it deserves five stars. We'll be going back soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HDS757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles City Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing