We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal and More” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charles City Tavern - CLOSED

Charles City Tavern
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Great Meal and More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

After visiting Shirley Plantation, we stopped at the Charles City Tavern for lunch. The food was excellent and the service even better. My wife was experiencing an allergy attack. The owner welcomed us warmly and provided comfort, support and assistance above and beyond. Whenever we are in the area, we are definitely going to stop by for another meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beware of specials!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We recently stopped here with friends visiting from England. A potentially pleasant evening was marred by the restaurant's policy of not disclosing the price of "specials" unless specifically asked. We foolishly ordered the "special" and when the bill came it was approximately double the price of anything else on the menu. We pointed out to both the waitress and owner that if items are going to be significantly higher priced, then that information should be disclosed. The response from both was unsympathetic. The waitress said we should have asked. The owner said that the meal we had should have actually been priced higher! We would certainly not have ordered the special had we known the price. The restaurant's setting is very nice and the food at least average, but we will avoid further embarrassment by not returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ERP444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous for brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stopped here for brunch prior to visiting the area plantations. Had a reservation but didn't need it. The food was simply divine - best crab cakes I've had!!! Desserts were awesome too. Seems like a lot of locals were there and not tourists, as everyone seemed to know each other. Definitely worth driving from Williamsburg to visit even if you're not going to plantation homes. I believe they're closed on Mondays, as a fellow couple at our hotel found out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mizzougalfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Worth The Trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

On our way to Shirley Plantation we decided to heed the advice from Southern Living and visit the Charles City Tavern for lunch. The restaurant is an old farm house located on Route 5 halfway between Richmond and Williamsburg.
We called earlier for reservations as we wanted to sit outside under the covered screened in porch as it was a beautiful day. We were greeted by a very friendly couple of servers who may have been the owners or managers. The restaurant itself is spotless and the atmosphere is very pleasant.
The lunch menu is extensive with an assortment of appetizers, salads, sandwiches and our waiter listed the specials which were extensive as well. We both chose the crab cake sandwich which was very good as was the potato side and the picked cucumber and peppers.
Being a little early for wine we took a pass but we did find some very interesting vintages that were on sale as they were changing the wine list for the warmer season. We also passed on the deserts which sounded very tasty and maybe we will give them a try on our next visit.

All in all a very nice restaurant close by the James River Plantations and perfect for a day trip. Good value, nice atmosphere and great service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kent, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant for a Date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Took my wife here for dinner on Valentine's Day. Previously received positive reviews from friends that had dined there. The only minor issue was the menu - researched the menu on-line and saw that it was within the cost range I was willing to spend, no mention on-line about a limited Valentines menu. Resulted in spending about 50% more than was planned, but at that point, there was no backing out.

Great atmosphere and the drive was nice. The restaurant decor was well done. The service was polite, but a little slow. It appeared that not enough staff was on hand to handle the volume of customers. Both had the Tavern steak and were glad that we requested the hunter sauce on the side. While the steak was a little tough to chew, all of the other items we were served were very good.

Will possibly dine there again, but not on a special occasion with a limited menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-VirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles City Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing