We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bland can be good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bland can be good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

I chose the Wingate based on its proximity to Dulles Airport. We had an early flight out, so we wanted as short a drive as possible.

I was not familiar with the chain, and was a bit nervous as I'd picked a non-refundable rate. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It was bland and a non-luxury hotel, but it had everything we needed.

The room was clean, the internet access was reliable, there was a fridge in the room, the drink machine was relatively cheap (we'd been paying $2 - $3 for bottled water in DC), and it was close to a few places to eat. The room set-up was very handy.

We had a problem with the tv remote - front desk staff were very helpful (but the remote didn't work well even after they put new batteries in). Our A/C broke in the middle of the night (smelled like it overheated) but we didn't want to get up, and I forgot to mention it to the front desk when we checked out. One of the towels had a bit of mildew on it, but there were lots, so we didn't need that one. The in-room coffee was the worst I've ever had. If you can bring a pack from another hotel, or at least some extra whitener / milk / sugar, do. At checkout, the young lady working there didn't know if we'd have to pay a toll en route to the airport, but she seemed like she was probably new.

We didn't get to try the free breakfast as we had to leave before it started (6:00 am - ugh).

We will probably stay here again. I didn't think it was a *great* value, as we paid around $145 / nt (it was a weekday), but my husband stayed there again recently on a Friday, and got an excellent rate (under $70).

Nearby attractions included Milwaukee Frozen Custard (yum - wish they had this in Vancouver!!) and the Udvar-Hazy Center of the National Air and Space Museum (Smithsonian). The frozen custard place was within walking distance, but you were walking next to a highway, so it wasn't pleasant. Udvar-Hazy was a short drive away (and was spectacular!).

  • Liked — Proximity to airport, overall convenience and room facilities
  • Disliked — In-room coffee
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    227
    100
    42
    15
See reviews for
216
126
47
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

I stayed here for 10 days in 2003 whist playing in us open qualifying at a local course in ashburn. it was recomended to me, and im thankful of the reccomendation.

a very nice clean, modern comfortable hotel, ideal for business travelers and people passing thru, has a nice pool and whirlpool and cool litle excersise room. The rooms are actually quite large considering i only paid $79 per night....i got huge king bed, big comfortable relaxing chair, nice desk and workstation, a nice big tv with plenty of channels (HBO included), nice air con, very clean bathroom, powerful shower (but the bath had no mat in so be careful getting out after your shower, i nearly broke my neck about 5 times). there is a cool little restraunt downstairs that serves standard meals, nothing suoer special, but exaclty what you expect from these kind of places (they do a great tortilla salsa wrap), a nice breakfast buffet also available in the morning. has free business centre, with just 1 or 2 pc's (i cnt remember), and free shuttle to and from airport. the staff could be a little more helpful tho, or at least a bit more knowledgeable, i had trouble using my room phone to connect to international lines, and the response from the same guy 3 times was...uuuuhhh aaam not too sure about phones suuurrrrr!!!

for the price this place is a steal!! $79 per night!! $179 in new york gets you a trailor/caravan in central park with the homeless.

Stayed May 2003
Helpful?
Thank emdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

I stayed here for 10 days whilst on business, hotel very clean and very modern. also has nice cookies on desk, and a few fitties on reception. Free shuttle to and from airport is also good. rooms very spacious for the price ($79 at the time), nice coffe machine, fridge and air con, also nice big tv with cable (although no "---" on freeview).Staff very helpfull ordering taxis, getting local info ect. The only downside is that my room phone would not dial internationally, when i approached the guy on the desk, he shrugged his shoulders and said" i dunno how to use them" i said "what, u never used phone before" he goes, "yeah, but not over water" WHAT!!!!
highly reccomeded though, i use Wingates wherever, whenever i can, in the USA

  • Stayed May 2003, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2005

This hotel is a class act all the way.

We got our room for $89 and it was just perfect...well, except that they don't accept pets.

The hotel is lovely, very manicured with a jacuzzi, high speed internet free with room, access to the internet via the TV (at an extra fee), indoor pool, nice looking exercise room. Our room was very well arranged and neat. Complete with microwave and fridge.

The front desk had our reservations and had them right.

Incidentally, there is a penalty here that you will have to sign acknowledgement too if you want a non-smoking room that if you do smoke in the room...you will be paying a hefty fine.

There is also a really nice pond and walking path behind the hotel.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank Q101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

We chose the Wingate at Dulles Airport and it was an excellent choice. We used their Park and Fly plan which was very reasonable, much better than parking at the airport. The rooms were lovely, very clean, we had a great hot breakfast and effeciently shuttled to the airport in the morning. When arriving back from our vacation, the service from the airport to the hotel was again very efficient. I would definitely stay here again!
KLMN

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klmnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chantilly hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chantilly Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Chantilly
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
Address: 3940 Centerview Dr, Rt 50 & Rt 28, Chantilly, VA 20151-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chantilly
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chantilly
#6 Family Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport Hotel Chantilly
Wingate Hotel Chantilly
Wingate Dulles Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing