We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent Residence Inn, good breakfast, nice rooms, thanks for the upgrade!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent Residence Inn, good breakfast, nice rooms, thanks for the upgrade!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while in Northern Virginia for a swim meet. Was pleasantly surprised to get a free upgrade on check in (platinum status has perks!). Room was very nice. Unlike some Residence Inn properties, this one is all one large building (4 floors), so it was nice to be able to get to breakfast, fitness room, etc., without having to venture outdoors. Breakfast was not quite as extensive as some Residence Inns I have been to, but not bad and was well stocked, considering that there was a large crowd. Fitness room was well equipped but very (very) small for the size hotel (12x12 or so room, with two treadmills, one bike, one stair master and a weight bench, plus free weights. It was in full use while I was there and it was quite noisy, stuffy and crowded). Room was clean and properly stocked with towels, etc. Full kitchen was appreciated. Flat screen tv's with HDMI port accessible, which is something I always appreciate. Overall a very decent hotel, lose one star for fitness room, plus a bit noisy being that close to two main roads and Dulles airport.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residencechant, Manager at Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at our property. We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your concerns. We are adding several new pieces of exercise equipment to enhance our room this month. I also wanted to let you know we have a sport court on our property with basketball and tennis. Complementary loner rackets and balls are available from our friendly front office staff. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    28
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
9
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel on business. I'm relatively new to the Residence Inn chain, but had a positive experience at another property, so thought I'd give this hotel a try. The location is great, walking distance to several restaurants (Red Robin, Famous Dave's, Ghengis Grill and more), plus Target and other retail stores. Front desk staff were super nice at check in and check out. Room was large with separate bedroom, which I prefer. Room was also very clean. The fitness center is small, but it has a great treadmill with connectivity for iPod, plus a bike, stair-stepper, and free weights. Also outdoor pool with hot tub. Free dinner served at night, plus breakfast in the morning. Manager was checking in with everyone during breakfast, which was a nice touch. Breakfast/dinner serving area is quite small, but there weren't a lot of people around, so it wasn't a big deal. The seating area was large enough to accomodate everyone. I will definitely seek out Residence Inns for my weekly business travel, and this property will be a favorite for travel in this part of Northern Virginia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleS0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have spent about 80 nights in Residence Inns since 2001.

This was by far the least comfortable stay I have had in one.

House keeping is not cleaning:
1) No less than 15 spiders in small webs in every corner of the room.
2) Walked barefoot on the carpet and got black feet.
3) Open/Close Curtains and got a face full of dust and dirt.

The bed was the very mushy, not just soft but mushy. below average pillows as well.

Pool has a safety issue. You need key card to get in and out. If there is some emergency and you don't have key card handy, you are locked in. The fence has a crash bar that is chained closed.

Breakfast was good
Staff was friendly and professional
Prepay price was great

Room Tip: There are other RIs in the area at a similar price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brucerap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here last year and enjoyed it so much it was our only choice upon our return this year. The rooms are clean and roomy. Breakfast choices are great including waffles, oatmeal, eggs, fresh fruit, etc. Free wifi. There's a pool, hot tub and small workout room. Very friendly staff. Free shuttle to and from Dulles International Airport which we utilized twice. There are plenty of restaurant, shops and Wegmans within walking distance (or a quick drive). If you find yourself in the area, I highly recommend this hotel ~ for short or long-term stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeiaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Decided to choose this hotel for it's great reviews and reasonably low cost in comparison to others in the area. Stayed in Chantilly for 1 night after a long 10-hour drive heading towards our exploration of Washington, DC. We arrived Thursday night, and were treated to the hotel's complimentary dinner which was absolutely delicious! They offer this from Monday- Thursday evenings... and this saved our family a lot of money thanks to the yummy free dinner. The following morning, breakfast was just as good with some quality scrambled eggs, ham, croissants, yogurt, fresh fruit, waffles, beef/hashbrown scrambled mixture (so good).... The services was unbelievable! The staff were super friendly and always catering to make sure everything was perfect during our stay. I've stayed at hundreds of hotels, and this is on top of my list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I am staying in a one bedroom suite. So far after two days here I'm very impressed with the hotel. Although it has not been renovated recently, the rooms and furnishings are clean and well appointed. Be aware that there
are no power outlets on the bedside tables. Front desk staff is extremely friendly. The managers reception in the evening is well appointed. I really like that they have soft drinks. Target is within walking distance along with several restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We were here for over a week while moving to the area, so we were able to fully appreciate all the hotel had to offer. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. We had things sent via Fed Ex to us at the hotel and they were brought up to the room. When I was eating a meal by myself with an 8 month old in tow, the staff (including a manager) acted like an extra set if hands: setting up the high chair for me, putting fruit in a bowl, and getting me a to-go cup for coffee. They let me borrow scissors to cut coupons from the Sunday paper. They carry the Washington Post and USA today, which for someone stuck in the Deep South for a few years, was a nice bonus.

The evening social meals (Monday-Thursday) help take the bite out of the price, which is a good value for this area. (the government rate was $179/night). The layout of the 2-room suite made it easy to have two cats and a baby and have everyone get much-needed sleep. There is room in the closet for two cat carriers, and space in the bathroom for a litter box. If you're a dog person, there is plenty of green space nearby for dogs to do their business, and also good places for walks.

Everyone knows traffic in DC sucks, but this hotel is in the perfect spot. Sure, if you go to check in and come off of 28, merging over to the turn lane might be rough. However, once you are here, you can walk to more than 5 restaurants (Red Robin, Dave's Famous BBQ, Ghengis Grill, Chipotle, etc) a Target (with a lot of grocery items), Starbucks (in room coffee is actually really good. If you don't like creamer, steal some milk from breakfast, the staff won't say anything), a hair salon...you get the idea. Going back out onto Lee-Jackson during rush hour to get food is an exercise in futility. You'll probably average 3-5 mph.

My husband has travelled a lot for business in the last decade. He is sort of obsessed with Marriott hotels. They have comfy beds, nice pillows, easy reservations and checkin/out procedures. Everyone we've encountered is nice and professional. I even saw them find a room for an exhausted soldier asking for an early check in at 0845. They even had staff hold breakfast for him (it runs 6-9 on weekdays).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magisternerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chantilly hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chantilly Dulles Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Chantilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South

Property: Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South
Address: 14440 Chantilly Crossing Ln, Chantilly, VA 20151-1667
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chantilly
#5 Family Hotel in Chantilly
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South is conveniently located just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport, the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Center and Avion Parkway. Guest suites include a full kitchen, separate living area and a pull-out sofa for extra sleeping space. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, free internet access, weekly social hours and grocery shopping service at this Chantilly IAD Airport hotel. Stay in shape while visiting our Chantilly hotel’s fitness center, or relax by the outdoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Dulles South Hotel Chantilly
Residence Inn Chantilly
Chantilly Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing