We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed one night as a weekend break. The small outdoor pool was clean and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was limited but had all the essentials (eggs, waffles, juice, fruit, yogurt,...). The A/C was reasonably quiet. Our room was on the second floor and the airplane noise didn't bother us. All in all a pleasant stay. The only thing we didn't like was the bed mattress - it wasn't very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hlalUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    28
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
9
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We selected this hotel for severel reasons.

1. Had a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen
2. Was close to Washington, DC
3. Have stayed with Residence Inn before.

1. This hotel was actually very nice. Some reviews had mentioned it was only ok, but our room seemed practically new. The 2 bedroom suite had bedrooms on the outside and the living room and kitchen in between. There was also a sofa bed and we had a rollaway brought in so that all 6 of us would be in a bed. No problems with any of that. Refigerator had an icemaker, kitchen had dishwasher, etc. Would have liked to have laundry, but it was available on the 4th floor for $1.50 per load which is not completely unreasonable. While we could have cooked our own breakfast, we did go to the provided breakfast everyday. They had cooked eggs, a waffle maker, cereal, fruit, juice, and then each day a change such as one day there was french toast, another had potatos and biscuits and gravy, etc. Actually very nice considering the price was $0! I'm sure I saved a lot of money (and time) eating there over going out each day with 6 people. For the room, at night could hear a little plumbing noise from upstairs, but discovered closing the bathroom door seemed to eliminate this. No problem getting on the "FREE" internet in my room.

Next, it was close to Washington, DC. Dare I say close because its only a matter of miles to the city, but there is terrible road construction on the highway going in and out of the city. On a Thursday night it took almost 2 hours to get to the Washinton Monument. However, the traffic seems to be hit and miss. Instead, we went to the Vienna/Fairfax Metro station which was about 5 miles away and rode in each day. The cost is about $9 per ticket and parking during the week is $4.50 per day. Well worth it considering there was very little parking in the city and very confusing parking signs. If you are doing the tourist attractions, just ride the Metro in, you will be glad you did. Plan to walk a lot, also take your lunch and bottled water in a backpack if you are on a budget because it is quite pricy to eat inside the tourist attractions. Your bag will be searched every time you go in a building. Forgot to mention this hotel is right across from a Target that sells groceries and a Costco. There is a Red Robin and BBQ place in the parking lot. Ate at the BBQ place and it was good ribs & chicken.

Good friendly staff that smiled each time we came through the lobby. A basketball was provided upon request for the basketball court and the pool was open until 8pm each night. Apparently there must be a lifeguard on duty. The hot tub was VERY HOT, but felt great after a day of walking. If you can not afford to be right in the city, then this is a good alternative. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwilley77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We made our reservations while driving into the DC area, after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We were traveling with our small dog, so our options were limited. We chose to stay in the Chantilly area because we wanted to tour the Air & Space Museum at Dulles. We actually were able to reserve 2 rooms for 3 nights each for less than we could get the 2 bedroom suite elsewhere, and we were there over the Memorial Day Holiday weekend. We needed the 2nd room for our grown son. The staff was so polite and helpful, the rooms were absolutely wonderful with kitchens larger than our sons apt in NYC! The bed was comfortable, breakfast more than plentiful (and included in the rate), convenient to many shopping areas and many choices to eat, free parking and internet! It is quite a drive into DC, but if you do not need to be in the city, this is an excellent choice! It is only 1 exit away from Dulles, but they do not have a shuttle to the airport. I would definitely stay there again if I am in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for the internet rate if you have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickPosseeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Nothing about this hotel stands out as either superior or horrible. It is a Residence Inn, so you have a mini apartment of sorts. You will not be short on space here! The best part of the experience was the variety of the free breakfast. We stayed here for 3 nights so had the chance to have breakfast 3 different times. They give you more than bagels, cereal and toast, and even offer breakfast burritos, waffles, eggs, hashbrowns, breakfast meats and all of the items you can expect of a standard continental. I do not call this breakfast a standard continental, but they provide those things plus all of the above mentioned. The location is about 3 miles from the IAD terminal. Location is adjacent to a Red Robin, Famous Dave's and very close to a Target and other eating/shopping establishments. However, the next time we are in the IAD area, we may opt for another hotel closer to the terminal. This one isn't inconvenient, but we would just opt for something else another time! If you like Chipotle, you'll be happy to know there is one just 3 doors or so down! Not a bad hotel, just needs some updating to bring it up to standard Marriott par. Would stay again, but would first find another location first.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjscraftygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley pa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I reviewed this hotel 5 years ago, and felt the need to do an update. Since then we have stayed many times while visiting family. We travel extensively and have rarely seen a moderate price hotel (very inexpensive on weekends) provide such consistantly excellent value.

Rooms are always clean, service efficenient and friendly, and buffet breakfast consistantly excellent, wonderful with children. Just a wonderful place to stay while in the DC area. There is simply nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank art89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The hotel is clean, comfortable and the rooms have a full kitchen for a long stay. The breakfast was good with a wide selection of food. The best thing about the hotel was it's proximity to Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerColumbusOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

The staff will accommodate your request so do not hesitate to ask.

The rooms have a full-sized refrigerator, which is great.

I was told the evening reception is nice, but I arrived too late to take advantage of it. The morning breakfast has a good variety.

Good location - next to many restaurants, Target, and other stores to make the stay very comfortable and stress-free.

Fantastic staff!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chantilly hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chantilly Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Chantilly
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South

Property: Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South
Address: 14440 Chantilly Crossing Ln, Chantilly, VA 20151-1667
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chantilly
#5 Family Hotel in Chantilly
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South is conveniently located just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport, the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Center and Avion Parkway. Guest suites include a full kitchen, separate living area and a pull-out sofa for extra sleeping space. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, free internet access, weekly social hours and grocery shopping service at this Chantilly IAD Airport hotel. Stay in shape while visiting our Chantilly hotel’s fitness center, or relax by the outdoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Dulles South Hotel Chantilly
Residence Inn Chantilly
Chantilly Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing