We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fajitas and burritos are yummy!”
Review of Picante!

Picante!
Ranked #8 of 154 Restaurants in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional Mexican fare offered backed by generous-sized portions! Picante! The Real Taco is also the spot to be on Friday nights, when our tequila lounge continues to be transformed into a salsa dance party starting at 8:30!
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fajitas and burritos are yummy!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The portions are huge - fajitas for two had plenty for Mom and two school-aged children. Dad ordered a burrito and it looked filling although it didn't come with any rice, beans or sides. Although I think there was a bit of a language barrier, server was very nice and attentive. We will definitely be going back for the fajitas!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLJNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not real Mexican food and not that good!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't too impressed with much here. The service was about the best thing there. The chips tasted stale and the salsa seemed like it was store bought. Got two chicken enchiladas, one with red sauce and one with green. Both very bland and the enchiladas had no flavor at all. Chicken was very watery and the thing that really grossed me out were the beans. They were absolutely disgusting! I can't even describe the taste. It was like they were from cans and they had been around the aluminum of the can too long. I couldn't even eat them. Absolutely gross. The food really lacked real Mexican flavor, actually any flavor and I won't be returning. One experience can ruin it forever and this one did! I don't recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLifeAlways7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo M, Owner at Picante!, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We at Picante! do try to overcome the misconception about Mexican cuisine. We do alter some of our recipes to make them more acceptable to a local palette, ie. lettuce and cheese on tacos--something uncommon to a real Mexican taco bought on the street in any Mexican city. Most Mexican cuisine is not "fiery", but the table salsas can be! We use fresh dried beans and cook them gradually with an herb used in Mexico for beans and soups. We do not use lard in their preparation for health reasons and the lard in the US is filtered and refined so much that is tasteless, like Crisco. Many restaurants use lots of oil and onions to flavor their beans. We feel that beans should taste like beans. Simple flavors of Mexico. Our food is fresh and hand-crafted. Our flour tortillas are made here on the premises. Most guests love our table salsa and many have suggested that we bottle it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Very Poor Experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've never been to a Mexican restaurant that charges extra for pico de gallo when ordering a Veggie Fajita. Also, it didn't come with rice, beans, onions, or sour cream! We asked our server if we could add rice, but I believe there was a language barrier issue as he kept referring to 'fajita condiments' (guac, sour cream, pico). We did order the fajita condiments and black beans, two additional charges! What kind of price gouging place is this?

We also ordered the Chile Verde Tacos. Again, no rice, no beans, no pico, no sour cream, no cheese. Just meat and spices inside a tortilla, which I find absolutely astonishing! I didn't think it was possible for soft tacos to be served so plain. Additionally, I couldn't even pick up the taco as the meat juices were overflowing and spilling all over my hand. This had a compounding effect, also causing the flour tortilla to become saturated and tear easily.

There were tacos on the menu that come with pico, guac, and charra, but those are the most expensively priced. Why pay extra when it comes included at all other Mexican restaurants?

Also, the chips did not taste like they were made on-site, but as if they'd came directly out of a bag.

On a positive note, the salsa that accompanied the chips was good, the restaurant was very clean, and the staff was professional. However, due to the reasons stated earlier, we will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jontae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo M, Owner at Picante!, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We, at Picante! are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Our chips are prepared fresh daily and then kept in a chip warmer before service to our customers. We are happy that you liked our chip salsa. Most customers LOVE it! I am glad that you encountered a clean restaurant and a professional staff as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Te amo Picante!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My fiance and I dined here for dinner and we can't think of a single bad thing to say! Everything seemed homemade and our server was polite and attentive despite a Friday night crowd. It was excellent and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiskyjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food Alan Value”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great place with good service. Fast turnaround. Fantastic fajitas . Always happy with food and service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scripophily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante! also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Picante!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing