We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Speedy and good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Basil Restaurant

Thai Basil Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 142 Restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Speedy and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Generally pretty good. The service is fairly quick which is useful for a lunch on a working day. Everyone I know who's been there "knows" that you can't trust the heat levels. Two out of 3 visits, a level 3 out of 4 on the heat scale, the food was fairly hot. But once the 3 was only a little hot. So that just adds a little excitement.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Squirrel_Girl_cbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    53
    13
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food is good. Some dishes are complex and some just straightforward. Good service. Average atmosphere I do like that they can make the curries very hot ("Laos hot") if you ask for it. I'd go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickf902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wow--I just don't get it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My second trip here for lunch as I wasn't overly thrilled with my first visit. I adore Pad Thai and try it as often as I can at various NoVA restaurants. Perhaps because they are planning for a large lunch crowd this dish suffers. I found it very dry (both times) and very bland. I feel they have cooked this earlier as they plan for the lunch crowd.

Sorry but I'm not going to give 'em a third try. FWIW--best Pad Thai I've found is a tiny place in Vienna--around the corner from Jammin' Java. No comparison if you try both!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Laid back, quick, and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On a major road outside, DC, pleasant people and quick service, next to a thai grocery store, proud of a Bobby Flay Throw Down, Pad Thai is their speciality but large menu, varied customers, local Thais and others like us

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juan32250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Pad Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tucked away and not visible from the road the restaurant is hard to find but well worth it. The restaurant had Pad Thai Throwdown with Bobby Flay and won. Can tell you the food was delicious. Pad Thai was amazing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank VASoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil Restaurant also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Thai Basil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing