We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Benihana's Bargain Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otani Japanese Steak & Seafood

Otani Japanese Steak & Seafood
Ranked #108 of 142 Restaurants in Chantilly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
U.S.A.F.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Benihana's Bargain Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Small, quaint place. Excellent attentative polite service. You get complimentary soup and salad with each order and a small dish of ice cream at the end. They have hibachi grills or area for sushi orders made fresh. Prices are very reasonable. Could have more flavor.
I only ordered sushi. They had wide variety to offer.
Overall decent food for the price, and made you feel special having the extra niceties offered during the meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5Travel-Bugs-USAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    14
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too Rushed of for expensive dinner!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wanted to go out for a nice long meal with sushi and hibachi, well got the sushi at the same time of the hibachi, which almost ruined a nice date night. I know they are trying to rush people through to turn tables, but maybe if you focus on customers experience they would stay long and come back more often and spend more $$$$!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Egg trick gone wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went on a coupon deal we purchased on a Saturday night with no reservations. It was not busy and we got right in. We actually had to wait for at least 2 more couples before they would even start to take our orders. The chef totally gave the vibe that he didn't want to be there and while he was doing one of his tricks with the eggs, he lost control of it and it flung toward my husband landing on his brand new shirt, breaking and making a mess everywhere. He just muttered "sorry" and I had to speak up and ask if someone could bring some towels to clean up...he make it seem like it was a big deal to have someone come over.

The food was just average for a Japanese steak house. We had recently been to a different one so in comparing it to that this one couldnt hold a candle to it. We each got the filet which we asked for to be cooked medium...it was a little overdone for our liking. The veggies were pretty good, the rice just OK.

Even with the coupon, it was still a bit pricey. Overall we will not return here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cassidy528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice time, quick service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We went here after a day at the Air and Space Museum. We were seated immediately upon entering and had our drinks within minutes. The menu is pretty standard hibachi fare, with a few higher end options. The chef was out to the table pretty quickly (certainly faster than Chantilly traffic moves at that time of day!) and he was very entertaining. His aim with the "food flips" was impeccable and he scored a solid 4 out of 4. The horseradish dipping sauce was excellent and the portions were large. Someone previously noted that the fried rice had no vegetables, and we also found that to be true. On a positive note, the chop sticks offered with dinner were of a much higher quality than those "rough wood" ones found in some other restaurants. Overall, not a bad place to dine.

Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bonsai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Food is great and of course prepared on the hibachi as you watch. The chef is very entertaining as he prepares the food. It's a little on the pricy side but the show is worth it. Only negative is that they seem to rush you a bit. I'm not sure if this was just Japanese efficency or they were trying turn over the tables as quickly as possible.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgwrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otani Japanese Steak & Seafood also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Otani Japanese Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing