We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Vietmanese food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PHO98

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
PHO98
Ranked #46 of 145 Restaurants in Chantilly
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Vietmanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have been here about 5 times and usually ordered the same meal each time except once. I order off the lunch menu and get the rice and lemon chicken dish it also comes with a winter or spring roll and a can of soda for around $12.00. The food is consistently good and the wait time is usually pretty fast. I have recommended this place to many friends who have also been very happy with their meals. My lunches are always very flavorful and there is lots of it if you are hungry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great phở and best bún bò Huế”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

For straight-forward Vietnamese quick-fixes, this place has the best all-around basics. Their "phở" is fantastic, neither better nor worse than the best "phở" offered out there by other Viet places, including specialized "phở"-only restaurants. These piping hot bowls of beef-based noodle soups sure do hit the spot not only when it's chilly outside, but also when the weather is hot - one cools down with diffuse heat-dissipating vasodilation after biting into the hot chilies!

But the best offering this place has is their spicy Central-Vietnamese "bún bò Huế" (or for people from the Imperial City of Huế and surrounding regions - simply "bún bò"). Many no doubts would argue about the recipe's authenticity. (No worries...there are just as many way to do "authentic" anything). When we live outside of the region of origin for any dish, the concept of "authenticity" has to be re-defined (for example - brownies in Paris are MUCH better than those in the States, but they are not authentic American brownies...). The point here is - I am of Huế stock, and I do approve! I think their bún bò Huế is better than other versions made by people who came from Huế.

I have not sampled other items on the menu extensively, although I did think their chicken phở and seafood phở were very good, and their lemon-grilled chicken with vermicelli were always a hit with the kids.

Overall great place! Service is generally good, although at times can be a tad harried and cold - but it's rare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent flavorful pho soup. Spring rolls are huge but somewhat greasy. Good Vietnamese coffee. Clean restaurant, pleasant waitstaff, fast service even when busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JediTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fast well-prepared food at a moderate cost.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

PHO98 serves a wide assortment of Vietnamese food in a large utilitarian dining room. My wife and I stopped in recently for lunch. I ordered a “small” bowl of chicken noodle soup and my wife the shrimp spring rolls. My portion of soup was huge and chockfull of all white meat. It was hot, fresh, flavorful, and very satisfying. The spring rolls were also fresh and tasty. The accompanying peanut sauce was very savory and the combination was delicious. Service was attentive and helpful.

PHO98 is recommended if you want a well-prepared meal at a moderate price, especially if your time is limited.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiMike606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PHO98 also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to PHO98? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing