We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Service”

Ford's Fish Shack South Riding
Ranked #1 of 154 Restaurants in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Towson, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've frequented this restuarant quite often and have tried several items. The deviled eggs and bacon are good, although the Dijon mustard is a bit overwhelming. Might be a good idea to mix it a little mayo with the Dijon. Their crabcakes are wonderful...I am from Maryland and the ones here have very little filler and great crab. The clam chowder needs something.....taste a bit commercial and not very homemade. I hope they improve it. the pecan crusted trout is delicious and very filling. The shrimp cocktail is one of the best I've ever had. The desserts are wonderful and I have never experienced service that was not GREAT. My only final comment is that the parking can be a bit challenging. I wish when they chose this location they would have considered parking. It can be hard to find a spot or you may have to park far away when they are really busy on Friday nights and the weekends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdmspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    90
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If your in the mood for seafood and you live in the Loudoun County area (Ashburn, South Riding) area you need to try this place out. We have been to this place twice and both times have been great! They have a large selection of seafood platters, desserts, sides, etc. Our kids love this place also as they have a nice seafood kids menu. The service from the waiters and hosts are very nice and efficient. This place tends to get very crowded on the weekends so make sure to try and call ahead if you have a large party.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desinez41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVE, LOVE, LOVE”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was our first visit and loved everything. We had dinner reservations and only had to wait about 15 minutes for our table to be ready. While we waited, a server came around with fried shrimp and fried clams to enjoy...a BIG surprise. I have never been offered a sample in any restaurant while I wait. We ordered the calamari and the angry mussels as appetizers. For the main dishes, fried scallops, fried oysters and fried clams. We also enjoyed the lobster roll. When I say everything was fresh and delicious, I mean EVERYTHING!!!! They have live music every Saturday night and the mucisian was great. He played a little bit of everything. The manager was kind enough to get his name for us (Bobby Stephens). He was so good, we thought he could play at our anniversary party. For those who say the service was bad, perhaps they had a bad experience. Our server was just great!! I have lived in Northern Virginia since 1985 and this is without a doubt, one of the best restaurants I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucybrown1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Try the shrimp tacos”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went here over the weekend after receiving several recommendations from various people. If you go before 7 PM there are a lot of families with small children. The wait time was pretty substantial especially if you have hungry children with you. I ordered the shrimp tacos and they were delicious. My wife ordered the crab cake sandwich and really enjoyed her meal. The service was good in spite of being a packed house. Definitely a place we will return to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service, great food!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have gone a few times and will be regulars. The food is very good and the service is exceptional.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack South Riding also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack South Riding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing